Saying Goodbye

July 23, 2003 at 12:32 pm | Posted in Doris, Loss | Leave a comment

My best friend has terminal cancer; it is spreading all over her body and she’s currently in the hospital with pneumonia. She may not make it till the end of the month.

A couple of weeks ago she told me that she was ready.

This morning I was able to sit with her and tell her “thank you” for giving me the gift of knowing that she was ready; I thanked her for helping me to let her go. I told her I was sad, very sad and that I would miss her forever and love her forever and never ever forget her, but if her time was coming, I will let her go with love.

She has spoken with her husband, MIL and 16 year old son and told them, too, that she’s ready. She is tired, oh so tired and is unable to eat and keep food in when she does.

I am selfish, I wish she could live for another 50 years, but reality is, the cancer is bad. Bad bad bad.

I’m no longer worried about her, though; she has made her peace with the Lord and knows that the angels will guide her to Him. I told her she’s going to have the most beautiful shiny wings and that I know that we’ll be together again in Heaven.

I am sad sad sad but not mad anymore. Just sad. I’m not sure how life will be without her. It will be lonely.

Please keep her husband and son in your prayers.

Thank you.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

I love reading your comments! Please leave me your thoughts.

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

