Remembering my Dad

December 10, 2007 at 7:54 pm | Posted in Dad, Diabetes, Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Today would have been my dad’s 72nd birthday, except that his diabetes destroyed his body and took him away from us in 1991.  Tomorrow, we are having the 8:00 am Mass said for him. 

I’ve been thinking of him off and on all day.  He would have LOVED my son.  He lived long enough to see and meet his first granddaughter.  She was about 15 months old when we lost him, so she has no memory of him and the two grandchildren since her only have stories that we tell them.  Daniel LOVES to hear about him, I tell him about how we went fishing when I was a little girl, I tell him how much his grandfather loved working for the railroad…..and how much I know he would love him today if he were here.

But he’s not.  Damn diabetes.  I hate it.

My relationship with my dad was never easy, but he mellowed out in the last years of his life.  He was so angry all the time, at his diabetes and at God for sending it to him.  He had too many health issues because of his diabetes.  That’s why I’m scared because now I’m diabetic and I KNOW that I have to be careful because I don’t want to die young like he did…he was only 54.

Happy birthday, Daddy, I love you and I miss you.

~ Patty

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

I love reading your comments! Please leave me your thoughts.

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

