Tornadoes

January 8, 2008 at 8:26 am | Posted in Cats, Tornado, Uncategorized | Leave a comment

So I knew that there was going to be some rain and the potential for severe weather last night but I had no IDEA what could or would happen.

Here’s NOAA’s page showing all the action.  Holy Cow!  According to a local radio station, we had at least ELEVEN tornadoes fly through the Ozarks last night.

It all started around 4:30.  I was helping ds with his homework; he needed a break, so I sent him downstairs for a few minutes.  The UPS man showed up at the front door and I went out to grab the box and could hear the sirens in town.  Hmmmmm…….I called my mom and she said that yes, they were blowing the sirens and that it was for a severe thunderstorm warning.  Yeah, they do that in town.  So I called dh up at his workshop and he said he heard it on the radio, not to worry.

Well, then I went downstairs and saw that there was now a tornado warning for our county.  I called my dh again and said COME TO THE HOUSE! and he said he heard it, too, and would be right there.  THANK GOD!  Well, that was the beginning of a LONG night.  We sat on the couch, huddled together for the next few hours watching the television and when that went out, listening to the local radio station.

We had a BUNCH of tornadic super cell systems fly over our house; they all took the same route.  And I was scared.  So was our ds.  I’m so glad that dh was home and not at work; usually he would have been at the office until 5:30 but yesterday he had his CT SCAN for the urologist and came home afterwards.

OH and the CT SCAN was CLEAR!  YAY!  He’s still in remission!  He’ll have to go back in 6 months again, though, but that’s just a fact of life forever.

Back to the tornadoes, I called my mom and said GET TO THE LANDLORD’s BASEMENT, PLEASE! because the weatherman said that one of the tornadoes was headed straight into town.  She was worried about her CAT (which I can understand, we have two cats and the older one was hiding upstairs), but I told her to leave the closet door open for him and to get to the landlord’s.  She finally said she would go and then we hung up.  Then I remembered that the neighbor next door might be at work, so I called his kids and told them they could come over – they weren’t there, they must have gone to the other neighbor.

We didn’t get supper until almost 8:00 pm.  My dh stayed by the television and radio until 10:00 pm, waiting for the all-clear.  I couldn’t sleep well, I could hear the radio and my dh mumbling at it (poor guy, he was tired and stressed, too!).  Our ds claimed he wouldn’t be able to sleep because of all the lightening and thunder but he was so stressed that he fell asleep within moments of hitting the pillow.

This morning dh told me that he heard on the radio that downtown had flooded; there are a couple of local rural schools closed.  Driving into town was a lesson in GRATITUDE.  Just down the road at Farm Road 1100 is a LOT of debris and a twisted phone pole.  There is debris everywhere (in the farm fields).  The trailer park about 3 miles from here was hit; so was the convenience store across the street from the trailer park.  We are blessed to be safe and to have NO damage to our property.  Thank you, God, for watching over us last night!

I have to catch up on my laundry today and clean up the kitchen; I was so tired last night after supper that I left everything in the sink.  Blah!  Daniel didn’t finish all of his homework last night so he’ll be bringing it home after school.  Tonight is basketball practice again – yay!

I hate tornadoes.  I hate living in tornado alley.  I am grateful for our basement and our storm shelter, though, and am grateful to be alive!

~ Patty

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

I love reading your comments! Please leave me your thoughts.

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

