I’m human again! Plus other musings………

March 12, 2008 at 9:51 am | Posted in Bully, Neck Pain, Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Jeepers, yesterday was a day to forget!

I had my epidural injection in the morning.  We took off for Springfield around 7:30 in order to make it through traffic and get there by 8:00 am.  The sun was directly in our faces, so driving was a challenge.  But we made it.  They took me back just at 9:00 am and the doctor/anesthesiologist came immediately to tell me about the procedure.  As soon as he did that, the nurse gave me my IV and checked my sugar (it was 118) and part of the sedative.  I said “goodbye” to Doris and was wheeled back…they gave me the rest of the sedative and turned me over onto my stomach.  I was still AWAKE…for some reason, I thought the sedative would have knocked me out…that’s what I wanted anyway LOL  So, I was awake and listening to the procedure…I heard everything…not what I wanted!  It was not painful although I did feel the first needle poke…

Afterwards they wheeled me to recovery and gave me some juice; I’m sure that my sugar was dropped lower by then, it was around 10:00 am.  Doris came in and sat with me while I had my juice.  Soon the nurse said it was alright to leave.  We went to the Waffle House.  Yummy!  I had a pecan waffle, scrambled eggs with cheese, bacon and scattered hashbrowns with onions and toast and an iced tea.  Too much food, I know, but since I had been fasting since the night before, I was STARVING!

Then we went to Kohl’s to shop.  I was feeling alright, just a bit goofy from the sedative.  I purchased a really cute polo shirt, it’s white with green dots.  All shades of green.  It’ll be perfect for Monday’s blood drive (Monday is my saint’s day:  St. Patrick!).  This morning at Walmart I purchased a pair of tiny green earrings to go with it!

After we shopped…it must have been around 1:30 pm, we decided it was time to leave.  On the way home, my left shoulder started hurting so badly.  Doris asked if I wanted to go to the ER but I said nope, I just needed to sit and get some Tylenol.  So we picked up ds from school, she dropped me off at my Mom’s and my Mom gave me some pain pills. 

By the time dh came for us, I was in severe pain.  It wasn’t constant but it came and went.  He took us for dinner at the local family restaurant and then home.  I didn’t do a darned thing but sit.  Sleeping was rough, it was after 11:00 pm before I fell asleep.  This morning it doesn’t hurt so much but it’s tender.  I’ve got a bandage on the back of my neck that I kept on during my shower.  I’ll take it off tonight before bed.

The KICKER in all of this is that the doc told me that I should come back EVERY FOUR WEEKS for this shot.  WTH?  Dr. O told me that it might take 2 or 3 sessions to get the pain gone but he didn’t say I would need to come back once a month forever like the doc yesterday.  There’s no way I’m doing that, I’d rather investigate surgery.  As dh said, these shots are NOT curing the problem, they’re handling the SYMPTOMS of numbness…in order to stop the problem, I need to get those bone spurs removed.  And that means surgery.  So when I see Dr. O on the 21st, I’m asking about surgery.  Not that I want surgery, but I don’t want to have to go back every month for this. 

Okay………….

Back to the bully situation.  The B wasn’t at school yesterday and ds said he had a great day.  He didn’t tug on his hair or act upset or nervous all evening.  He ate all of his dinner and played next door with the neighbor boy and his friend.  Today we are meeting with the school principal.  I have a copy of the school handbook and it definitely states that “harassment” of students is NOT allowed and is grounds for being suspended.  So is “violence against another student” and I know that has happened twice – this child has caused bodily harm to two other boys.  My son and others witnessed it – but the child (B) was not suspended.  When I questioned the teacher, the stated that the punishment was being handled “in school” and that was that.  I am going to also ask today to see my son’s school file and see the documentation that the teacher and principal should be keeping regarding the conferences we have been having.  I’ll bet you $20 there isn’t one scrap of information in his file!  Not once has the teacher taken notes during our conferences………..

I’ve been trying to not get over-emotional with this and to try and stay calm.  I know that the Lord says to “turn the other cheek” and to love with all my heart and soul.  I know that’s the lesson to teach my son and we’ve been trying to tell him to just walk away from B, to laugh things off that he tells him….but when my son said yesterday that B calls him names….when my child asked me “Is being gay a bad thing?  Mom, B says that I’m gay and that I’m bad”, then I cannot just sit and do nothing.  I have tried to pray for this child…one of my first AA sponsors taught me a long time ago that when someone pains me, I should pray for them at least SEVEN days in a row, asking God to bless them and watch over them…honestly I have tried but it’s so hard.  I know he’s just a CHILD, but he’s tormenting my child and others and he needs to be stopped.  His parents (divorced, but still his parents!) need to make changes to help this child.  Our children are supposed to be in a loving, Christian environment while they’re at school.  Being harassed and called names are not loving.  Things like this should not be allowed.  PERIOD.

So that’s where I am today.  Confused over my emotions….angry and hurt.  And trying to pray.  And with an aching neck.  Bleah!

~ Patty

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

I love reading your comments! Please leave me your thoughts.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

