The Ultrasound Results are In!

February 26, 2009 at 2:01 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

The good news is that I don’t have fibroid tumors.  The good news is that I don’t have anything WRONG. 

The bad news is that my doctor (whom I love dearly) said:  "Welcome to perimenopause!"

Ack!  Getting old sucks!

She had the results of yesterday’s ultrasound and said that everything looks NORMAL for a woman my age.  Naturally she understands my frustration with the way Mother Nature has been treating me – she’s my age, so she’s in the same boat.

She advised me to hang on for two more months, write down details and we will go over the options in April.  I told her that we wanted to go on a cruise this coming August and that I didn’t want to be flooding all over the deck while we’re in the Caribbean and she laughed and promised that things ought to be straightened out for me by then.  We discussed a Mirena IUD and ablation; she thinks that I’m a good candidate for both but may end up sending me to a gynecologist.  That’s what I love about her (among other things), she’s not afraid to let me know when she ISN’T the expert on issues.  Many doctors I’ve met are so full of themselves, they think they know everything, but not ours. 

She stated that my body is in a state of change right now due to being almost 48 and having lost 85 pounds in 8 months.  My metabolism is trying to find its footing and that could be why I’ve been stuck at 150 pounds for the past month…she agreed that since I haven’t had any TIAs or numbness for a couple of months, that exercise is a good idea.  That’ll jump-start my metabolism plus will help me feel better, too.  I want to contact N at the local hospital; she leads spinning classes and I’ve been promising myself that once I lost a bunch of weight, I’d start spinning.  That’s a GREAT way to get rid of calories.

So I’ve got a little calendar tucked away in my drawer with my undies and I’ll note any and all details of my cycle for the next two months.  Then go in and see which direction we’ll head.

Thank God there isn’t anything wrong!

~ Patty

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

I love reading your comments! Please leave me your thoughts.

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

