Oh crap!

March 2, 2009 at 10:28 am | Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Woke up at 5:40 this morning and took my mom to the hospital for her fasting glucose test.  She had to go through admitting and then take her paperwork to the lab.  They checked her in, took some blood, then we waited.  I wondered why they didn’t bring out the gunk for her to drink….

Eventually the lab tech came out and called mom back in.  I overheard part of the conversation.  They couldn’t continue the testing because they didn’t need to.  Her sugar was very high already!  The lab tech said that her doctor would be calling her tomorrow and no, she wouldn’t tell her how high her sugar was.  Obviously it wasn’t dangerously high, but it was high.

I invited mom out for breakfast but she just wanted to go home.  She is VERY upset about this….I told her it wasn’t the end of the world if she IS diabetic (which I’m betting she is).  It’s not a death sentence like it was 100 years ago.  But she’s totally upset and didn’t want to talk about it.  All she said was that she had spent the weekend praying to NOT be diabetic.  I understand her fears, I had them myself when I was diagnosed 2 1/2 years ago.  And knowing that diabetes is what cut my dad’s life short at age 54, it’s understandable that she has fears.  But doctors today know so much MORE than they did even 20 years ago….

She didn’t even invite me in when I stopped at her place.  I told her to go in and eat some breakfast and take a nap, and will call her later.  I didn’t want to leave her knowing she’s totally upset but she wanted to be alone, so I had to respect that.

I might call her later to see how she’s doing.

Diabetes sucks.

~ Patty

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

I love reading your comments! Please leave me your thoughts.

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

