Wednesday Afternoon

March 4, 2009 at 2:06 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Just got back from taking my mom to see her family doctor.  She put Mom on Metformin, 500 mg in the morning.  And she’s calling Nancy at the local hospital to set up a Diabetes Education Class.  They meet on Fridays, so hopefully it will be next week or the week after so that I can trade days off and go with her.  My mom seems to think she knows everything about diabetes from when my dad was alive, but honest to God, she did NOT feed him healthy food, he ate desserts every night (like a slice of chocolate cake with frosting plus a glass of whole milk!), she fried all his foods in lard (she still does! even meat that doesn’t need extra fat!).  So I told Dr. P, right there in front of my mom, that Mom needs a visit with a registered dietician in addition to the DEC.  Mom wasn’t too happy with my saying that but oh well…….

Then we went to fill her prescriptions (Metformin plus another one for high blood pressure) and the darned pharmacy could fill the HBP medicine but not the Metformin…they said her insurance card had a wrong number on it.  UMMMM, why was it the right number for the HBP medicine then?!?  After fussing with them for 20 minutes she gave up and left.  I gave her my cellphone and she called her insurance agent who called the pharmacy.  I was out of patience and finally said the heck with THAT pharmacy, call ANOTHER pharmacy and get the prescriptions transferred over.

SO, she agreed and I called the SECOND pharmacy.  We went there to pick up her Metformin but the second pharmacy said that the FIRST pharmacy REFUSED to give them the information!!  So I called the doctor’s office and asked the nurse to call the second pharmacy and get the prescriptions to them.  And I told my mom NOT to go to the first pharmacy AGAIN since they’re apparently IDIOTS!

Ack!

Now she has to wait for the nurse to call the second pharmacy and for them to deliver it to her home.  I’m not going to wait around all day for these things to happen!

We had lunch in between all these phone calls and pharmacy trips.  Lunch was good.  Not good for me, but good.  I had an appetizer platter:  onion rings, mozzarella cheese sticks with marinara sauce and chicken strips with honey mustard.  OMG, all fried!  My stomach feels like I ate a brick.  I’m never doing that again LOL

Oh while I was at the doctor’s office, I jumped on the scale and it still said 149.  I made sure to tell the doctor and nurse about my scale finally moving again LOL  The nurse was teasing me about sticking her foot on the scale (behind my back) and scaring me into thinking I had GAINED something! 

Anyway, that’s my update.

~ Patty

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

I love reading your comments! Please leave me your thoughts.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

