Wednesday…or maybe what happened on Tuesday LOL

April 1, 2009 at 4:32 pm | Posted in Emergency Room, Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Well, yesterday morning started out well. Woke up, showered, got ready for work, got ds ready for school, had some Cream of Wheat made with soy milk (yum!), getting ready to walk out the door when all of a sudden I’m bent doubled over in pain….sharp chest pain and I can’t catch my breath.

Drove ds to school, trying to stay calm, then called dh to let him know something was wrong. He told me to get to the ER immediately, so there I went.

My EKG was normal, my blood pressure was fine, but the ER doc was concerned that my heart rate was “very fast, on the high side of fast” whatever that means. My potassium was low, I’m slightly anemic, too. They gave me a potassium tablet (hard to swallow) and told me to take 2 a day for the next 5 days.

They eventually sent me home to rest, with instructions to return immediately if the pain continued or got worse. I called my family doc and let her know what was going on, that I was scared to death and that the ER doc didn’t do much of anything, so she had me go in at 2:15 to her office.

She checked me over, read over the lab reports and ER notes. The pain is on my right side and radiates to my back. Earlier it was going down my right arm, too.

Her diagnosis: a big word I can’t remember

In regular people-language, I have an injured rib! Since I’m so stressed over dh being sick, my immune system is out of whack and I must have either slept crooked or bent wrong somehow this morning (don’t remember doing that at all) and I’m going to be in pain for 2-3 weeks.

She gave me a prescription for an anti-inflammatory and instructions to ice myself for 5 minutes at a time, then apply a heating pad for 5 minutes.

Ack! I’d ask “what else could go wrong?” but knowing me, something would go wrong, so I’m not asking!

Wow, what a day yesterday was.  Today I’m feeling much better.

~ Patty

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

I love reading your comments! Please leave me your thoughts.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

