so, four more days until surgery!

May 23, 2009 at 7:02 pm | Posted in Hospital, Hysterectomy | Leave a comment

I’m packing my overnight bag, collecting phone numbers from friends to call them and let them know that it’s over….

just need to psych myself up for the darned thing.  Saw my gynecologist on Friday and we’ve decided to go ahead and have him remove BOTH of my ovaries.  One of them is the problem, but after doing some research and learning that a big majority of women have to return to the hospital for the removal of their second ovary within a few years, I decided to just have everything removed at once.

He said he’d give me a hormone shot while I’m still in the hospital, to prevent menopausal symptoms from occurring while I’m recovering from surgery…and when I return for my 3-week post-op checkup, we’ll discuss alternatives to HRT.

I’m looking forward to the end of my cycles, that’s for sure. Not looking forward to having to deal with menopause at age 47, though.

So here I sit, looking toward the future.

Bleah.

~ Patty

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

I love reading your comments! Please leave me your thoughts.

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

