Breakfast for One!

September 26, 2012 at 2:00 pm | Posted in Eggs, Meat-less, My Own Creation, Potatoes, Uncategorized | Leave a comment

I love omelettes – they’re so versatile.  This morning, I decided to make one.

Ingredients:
Two eggs
Two tbsp. milk
1 tbsp. butter
Four fresh mushrooms, sliced
1/4 cup cheese
1 tbsp. butter

Here’s how I did it:
Step One:
Whip eggs and milk together in small dish; set aside.

Step Two:
Heat butter in small pan; add mushrooms and saute for about four minutes.  Remove from pan.

Step Three:
To the same pan you used to saute mushrooms, heat butter on medium and when butter is hot, add eggs.  Do not stir!  As eggs begin to set, gently lift around the circle of the pan to let the egg pour down onto bottom of omelette.

Don’t stir!
Can you see where I’ve lifted the sides a bit?

Step Four:
Once omelette is pretty well set, add mushrooms and a handful of cheese (I used Mexican blend).  Gently fold omelette over and close it.  If you’re brave – and I’m not – you can flip it to brown the side you just turned up.  Slide onto your plate and enjoy!  I had a bagel with mine, as well as some homemade potatoes.

Here’s how I make my potatoes:

Place one peeled and sliced potato into small pot and cover with water.  Add about 1 tbsp. salt and boil for about 10 minutes.  Drain potatoes and add to pan with one tbsp. melted, hot butter.  Allow them to brown as much as you like.  Salt and pepper to taste.  Sometimes I shake a couple of shakes of onion powder or garlic powder on them.

The best part of this breakfast is that you can double and triple it.  My rule of thumb on the eggs is two eggs per person and one tablespoon of milk per egg.  Ditto on the potatoes:  you can make more potatoes for however many people you are feeding.  My rule of thumb on potatoes is one potato per person, plus one for the pot.  My husband taught me that!  This morning, the pot didn’t get its own potato because I knew if it did, I’d be too tempted to eat it myself.

Also you can add any kind of veggies to the omelette and any kind of cheese and even add ham or bacon or sausage.  I will go meatless today.  All day.  But I ate my protein in the eggs and cheese this morning, will have a protein shake for lunch and had cheese in the pasta I will fix for dinner.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

I love reading your comments! Please leave me your thoughts.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

