Smashed Potatoes

October 8, 2012 at 11:32 pm | Posted in My Own Creation, Potatoes, Side Dish | 1 Comment

We have smashed potatoes at least once a week.  Today, instead of using my usual potato smasher I used a new ricer that I received from the Amazon Vine program; in return for this free OXO Ricer, I need to do a review on my Vine Account.  I’ll run over to Amazon after posting tonight’s meal.

But, on to the potatoes!

Ingredients:

Russet potatoes -1 per person plus 1 for the pot

Water – enough to cover the potatoes

Salt – about 1 tsp. per potato

1 stick of butter (don’t worry, you won’t use all of it!)

Milk

Since tonight I used the ricer, I didn’t dice the potatoes.  I peeled them and cut them into fourths, covered them with water and salted the water.  Cover and set timer for 25 minutes.

Right before the timer goes off, poke a potato with a fork; they may be ready.  You don’t want them to be mushy, just a bit firm.  When they’re ready, drain in a colander and bring back to your work area.  Today, my work area consisted of my counter top and I had my butter and milk ready to go.

Grab a couple of pieces of potato and squeeze through the ricer; continue until all of the potatoes have been “riced” through.

Now, add some butter and start stirring with a slotted spoon.  Can you see my favorite spoon in the picture, to the right of the bowl?  It works perfectly for this job.  Keep adding butter until the texture is no longer gummy or pasty.  Now it’s time to start adding milk and whipping them lightly.

Add enough milk and keep whipping them until they’re light and fluffy.  When they are, add a couple of pats of butter to melt on top and make your family drool.

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. […] made my usual smashed potatoes, using my ricer, but instead of regular milk (since we are running low), I used whipping cream. […]


I love reading your comments! Please leave me your thoughts.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

