Italian Chops & Potatoes

October 14, 2012 at 6:26 pm | Posted in Main Dish, One-Dish Meal, Potatoes | Leave a comment

I get tired of pork chops, don’t you?  I’ve baked them with various preserves (apricot, peach, apple), fried them with coatings and without, used sage and other spices….ho-hum!

Well, tonight I was staring at the chops and decided to throw some Zesty Italian Dressing into the baking dish, and instead of boiling potatoes and tossing them with butter and calling them finished, threw them in with the chops.  And here’s what I came up with:  Italian Chops & Potatoes.

Ingredients:

3 center cut chops, boneless

3 peeled and diced potatoes

1 cup zesty Italian salad dressing

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.

I didn’t brown my chops before tossing them into the 9 x 13 un-greased pan; I think that next time, I will.  It just means you’ll have another thing to wash but the browning might add some extra flavor.

OK, onto the directions:

Set the chops and potatoes in ungreased baking dish.  Top with dressing.

Cover with foil and bake for 45 minutes.

At the end of 45 minutes, uncover and bake for 45 more minutes.  At the end of this 45 minutes, remove chops and allow them to sit for five minutes; return potatoes to oven.

Scoop potatoes out using slotted spoon and serve.

Next time, I’ll definitely brown the chops; they look a bit pale, don’t they?  LOL

Supper was chops, potatoes, veggies and biscuits (out of a can) and freshly brewed sweet tea.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

I love reading your comments! Please leave me your thoughts.

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

