Post #600! Let’s Eat Ricotta Cookies!

October 29, 2012 at 2:04 pm | Posted in Cookies, Dessert, Ricotta Cheese, Uncategorized | Leave a comment

These yummy cookies are from Lisa at AllRecipes.  The little tweak I made was to use LEMON extract instead of VANILLA extract.  Since I left some of the cookies without frosting, I wanted to still enjoy the lemony taste.  They turned out great!

Ingredients for cookies:

2 sticks of butter, softened at room temp for about 45 minutes

2 cups white sugar

2 eggs, at room temp for about 45 minutes

16 ounce container Ricotta cheese

2 tsp. lemon extract

4 cups all-purpose flour (don’t need to sift)

1 tsp. baking soda

1 tsp. baking powder

Frosting:

1/2 cup milk

1/2 tsp. butter

1/2 tsp. Crisco shortening

4 cups confectioners’ sugar

1 tbsp. lemon extract

candy sprinkles or colored sugar

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F and lightly spray cookie sheets with Pam (I used butter flavored Pam).

Cream sugar and butter together in large bowl; I used my handy red mixer.

handy red mixer

Cream sugar and butter together until light yellow and fluffy.

Add eggs and lemon extract slowly while continuing to mix together.

I always crack my eggs into a small dish, because it’s gross when shell gets into your food!

I purchased a 32 ounce container of Ricotta cheese, so I had to measure it out on my kitchen scale!

This is what 16 oz. of Ricotta cheese looks like – yum!

Combine dry ingredients – flour, baking powder and baking soda.

Add the Ricotta cheese and mix a bit, then slowly add the dry ingredients.

Blend well.

I have a tiny scoop that I use for baking cookies; it holds about a teaspoon of dough.  I love it!  All my cookies are the same size, thanks to this little bitty scoop, which is SO important because you don’t want to overbake or underbake cookies.  Bake each sheet of cookies between 8-10 minutes.  Eight minutes was exactly right on my oven; your oven is different, so check the cookies before that and you may even need to go to 10 minutes.

Remove from oven and let cool for five minutes before placing on cooling rack.

The first batch!

As you finish up the cookies, start the frosting.  I used my microwave and a large glass measuring cup.  Add the milk, butter and shortening and warm in microwave.  It took almost a minute for the milk to heat and the shortening and butter to get melted.  Pour this into a medium bowl and slowly add – one cup at a time – the confectioners’ sugar.

Start with the first batch of cooled cookies and dunk them into the frosting, then top with sugar sprinkles.  OH WOW, I just realized I didn’t take any pictures of the frosting process!  Ack!  What was I thinking?!

Here are the finished cookies:

Aren’t they pretty?

I left some without frosting, since I’m diabetic and not supposed to overload on sugar – they are pretty, too.  And very delish!

mine, mine, mine, mine, mine, mine!

They are very moist and soft and not too sweet tasting – at least without the frosting.  I do have to admit that while dipping and sprinkling, I got some (just a bit) of frosting on my fingers and of course I had to lick it off – it was yummy!  Nice and lemony!  The cookies without frosting taste lemony, too.

Oh and I’m so excited!  This is my 600th post!  Let’s party and eat all the cookies!

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

I love reading your comments! Please leave me your thoughts.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

