Minestrone Soup

November 10, 2012 at 6:55 pm | Posted in Italian, Main Dish, My Own Creation, Soups & Stews | Leave a comment

I wasn’t going to make Minestrone until tomorrow but my fish hadn’t thawed, so I decided to fix it tonight. YUM! It was so good!

Ingredients:

1 pound sweet Italian sausage links

olive oil, maybe 2 tablespoons

one 24-oz. can of petite diced tomatoes

4 cups of boiling water

one Knorr’s soup stock packet, beef

one 18-oz. can of Progresso Recipe Starters, Roasted Tomato flavor

one 15-oz. can of Progresso Cannellini beans, rinsed and drained

two Bay leaves

two cloves of garlic, minced

8 oz. medium shell macaroni

3 diced carrots

1/4 cup frozen green beans

1/4 cup frozen corn

Slice up sausage into bite-sized pieces and brown thoroughly (on medium high heat) in the olive oil, using a heavy soup pot.

Melt the beef stock packet in the boiling water and slowly add to the browned sausage; add the canned tomatoes and roasted tomato sauce.

Add bay leaves and garlic.  I love my little garlic press that I purchased through Pampered Chef.  Bring to a boil, then turn to low and add the carrots, corn and green beans.

Cover and simmer while you prepare the pasta.

Boil pasta in salted water for about nine minutes; drain carefully.

I prepped the pasta separately from the soup, so that it wouldn’t get soggy in the leftovers.  Now I can take the leftover soup, freeze it for later and make more pasta when it’s time to serve.  For each bowlful, I added one scoop of pasta and three scoops of soup with lots of broth.

YUM!

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

I love reading your comments! Please leave me your thoughts.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

