Chocolate Macarons

November 21, 2012 at 7:29 pm | Posted in Chocolate, Dessert, Uncategorized | 2 Comments

Yum!  Remember the cookbook that I purchased the other day? I used it today to make chocolate macarons.  The cookbook is called Macarons & More and the recipe I used is on page 18.  I didn’t change ANYTHING since baking is so EXACT.  It was the first time I’ve tried anything so unique…

Ingredients:

1 cup powdered sugar

2/3 cup almond flour

3 tbsp. unsweetened cocoa powder

3 egg whites, at room temperature

1/4 cup granulated sugar

Line cookie sheets with parchment paper.  Combine powdered sugar, almond flour and cocoa in food processor.

I’ve got a mini processor but it worked fine.

Process into a fine powder and sift into bowl.

In separate bowl, beat egg whites on medium speed until they’re nice and foamy.  Slowly add granulated sugar and beat at high speed for about three minutes until soft peaks form.

Scrape the sides of the bowl and make sure that all of the egg and sugar is blended.

Add half of the cocoa and flour mixture and blend with a spatula.

The cookbook stated that it would take about 12 strokes to accomplish this.

Continue blending and add the rest of the flour.  Make sure you scrape under the mixture and blend it carefully.

Once the batter is mixed, test it:  take a spoonful and put on a plate.  The batter should have a small peak which plops back into the batter.

Scoop batter into bag with a No. 12 tip and make big dots, approximately 1″ in circumference and 2″ apart on parchment paper.  The macarons have to rest:  minimum of 15 minutes up to an hour, depending on how humid the weather is.  I let mine rest for 20 minutes.  To test, touch one.  If it’s dry and doesn’t stick to your finger, they’re ready to bake.

Preheat oven to 375 degrees F.

Bake for FIVE minutes.

Lower oven to 325 degrees F.

Bake for 10-13 minutes, checking every 5 minutes.  If the macarons start to brown too quickly, cover them lightly with foil.  You can also lower the oven temperature a bit more or prop open the oven door.  I propped my oven door a bit and mine baked in 10 minutes.

Allow macarons to cool completely on cookie sheet.

Once they are cooled, you can pipe or spread filling on one flat side of a macaron and top with another flat side of another macaron.

The cookbook suggested a chocolate ganache or chocolate hazelnut filling (Nutella) or seedless raspberry jam.  I used seedless strawberry jam on a few (yum!) and then used chocolate frosting (sorry, not homemade!).  I wonder how smooth peanut butter would be?

They’re delish!  Crispy on the outside and chewy on the inside.


2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. How fun! Lately, I’ve been wanting to try my hand at macarons, but am intimidated. Your post was so helpful and now I’m not so scared. haha! They look delicious! I’m excited to try them for December teas! 🙂

    • I was intimidated, too, but decided to get brave and try them. I’m glad I did! Hope yours turn out great for your December teas – let me know how they turn out.


I love reading your comments! Please leave me your thoughts.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

