Salad with Rib-Eye Steak

November 30, 2012 at 6:18 pm | Posted in Main Dish, Rib-Eye Steak, Salad | Leave a comment

We love salads.  I’ve tried to have Meatless Mondays and other meatless nights but my two carnivores ask me, “Where’s the meat?” whenever I try that and since my husband is on chemo, I encourage him to eat protein as often as possible.  Yep, I know there’s protein in other foods, but he loves meat and when he feels like eating it, you bet I’m going to fix it for him.

I’ve made salad with steak before but had never used rib eye steak.  We love rib eyes.  Last payday while at the grocery store I found four beautiful rib eye steaks, popped three in the freezer for one meal and kept one all by its lonesome for salad night.  My mom gave me a George Foreman Grill a few years back and I have to admit that it’s only been over the past few months that I’ve used it.  It does a great job for meals like this.

Ingredients:

1 rib eye steak

1 bag of salad (I love hearts of Romaine)

3 carrots, peeled and cut into bite-sized chunks

6 radishes, cleaned and cut into bite-sized chunks

1 tomato, seeded and sliced

walnuts

dried fruit (I use Ocean Spray Blueberries)

mozzarella cheese, fresh

croutons

salad dressings

salad and alfredo 001

Slice and dice your veggies.  I separated mine in little containers because our teenager doesn’t like tomatoes and he and I don’t eat the radishes that hubby likes.

Grill meat to the desired doneness.  We like rare meat.  All three of us.

salad and alfredo 002

I seasoned it with just salt and pepper.  While meat is grilling, divide salad between three plates and add veggies, handfuls of dried fruit, walnuts and mozzarella.  Of course, I didn’t use a whole ton of veggies and you can use whatever your family loves best.

salad and alfredo 003

Let meat rest for about five minutes to let the juices soak in.  Mmmm, it smelled so yummy!  Top salads with meat and croutons.

salad and alfredo 005

Serve with various dressings.  I typically have three or four in the fridge.

salad and alfredo 006

The rib eye steak was so yummy and tender and juicy.  Definitely going to use it again on salad.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

I love reading your comments! Please leave me your thoughts.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

