Alfredo Sauce…Mine!

December 1, 2012 at 6:52 pm | Posted in Italian, Meat-less, My Own Creation, Pasta | Leave a comment

This is the only kind of meal that I can serve that’s meatless. Otherwise, my two T-Rex dinosaurs look for the meat. This recipe has tons of cheese, which is an excellent source of protein for all of us. Also, thankfully, I can eat it without getting bloated. Ever since my gastric bypass surgery, I’m lactose intolerant and can’t have ice cream or milk without taking Lactaid or something like it.

I recently made Alfredo sauce from a recipe and, while it was alright, it wasn’t thick and rich and creamy.  My husband remembered that I had made it before using cream cheese, so I did some research here on the internet and tried to find what I had made before (I couldn’t find the recipe in my recipe drawer).  What happened is this:  lots of recipes sounded good so that it was impossible to pick one, so instead, I took what I thought would work and put it together myself.  It turned out beautifully!  My two cleaned their plates and our teen son had seconds.

Success!

Ingredients:

1 stick of butter (1/2 cup)

1 garlic clove, minced

8 oz. cream cheese

1/2 cup grated fresh Parmesan

1 pint half and half

parsley

pasta:  you can use spaghetti noodles or Fettuccini or any other long noodle you wish

salad and alfredo 008

Using heavy-bottomed pot, melt butter on low and add garlic.  Slice cream cheese into slices (I ended up with 8 slices) and add one slice a time to the butter and garlic, stirring with whisk.

salad and alfredo 009

Add cream cheese and continue whisking.

salad and alfredo 010

When all of the cream cheese has been added and mixture is smooth, then slowly add Parmesan.  Turn heat up to medium and keep whisking, so that it doesn’t clump.

salad and alfredo 012

Add half and half to the mixture very slowly, whisking and watching that the mixture doesn’t get too hot:  otherwise it could curdle!

When mixture starts to form bubbles on the edges, just before it starts to boil, TURN OFF heat and remove from fire.

Shake in parsley and serve hot!

salad and alfredo 013

It was rich and oh, so yummy!

salad and alfredo 016

See how nicely it stuck to the pasta?  That’s the way Alfredo is supposed to be!

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

I love reading your comments! Please leave me your thoughts.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

