Blackberry Pork Tenderloin

December 2, 2012 at 6:30 pm | Posted in Main Dish | Leave a comment

This was found in my recipe drawer, it’s from Sharon Stillman of Mequon, WI and a winning recipe in a Better Homes and Garden contest way back in 2009.  I didn’t follow the recipe exactly; will post her ingredients first and then let you all know what I did differently.

Ingredients:

1 1/2 lb. pork tenderloin

1/4 cup blackberry preserves (I used seedless jam)

1/4 cup dry white wine or apple juice (I used apple juice)

2 tbsp. balsamic vinegar (I used cider vinegar)

2 tbsp. olive oil

2 tbsp. Dijon mustard

3 cloves garlic, minced

1 tsp. soy sauce

1 tsp. finely shredded orange peel (I used 1/4 cup orange juice because I didn’t have any oranges)

1/2 tsp. snipped fresh rosemary (I had this!  Thankfully rosemary is a tough herb!)

Place tenderloin in resealable plastic bag set in shallow dish.  For marinade, in bowl, whisk together preserves, apple juice, vinegar, olive oil, mustard, garlic, soy sauce, orange, and rosemary.  Pour marinade over pork and seal bag.  Marinate, refrigerated for two to five hours, turning bag occasionally.

I used a plastic container for marinating my tenderloin.  Decided it would be better for the environment than using a plastic bag.

food 003

So, I mixed everything in the container, then added the meat to marinate.

food 005

I let it marinate in the fridge for about four hours.  Every hour, I turned the meat so it would all be marinated.

Preheat oven to 425 degrees F.  Drain pork and reserve marinade.  Place meat on rack in shallow roasting pan and roast for 45 minutes or until only slightly pink in the center.  Meat should register at 155 degrees F when removed.  Let meat sit for ten minutes to rest before slicing.

food 009

Bring marinade to boil and simmer for five minutes and serve with meat.

food 010

It was pretty good!

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

I love reading your comments! Please leave me your thoughts.

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

