Chocolate Cake Mini Donuts

December 5, 2012 at 7:08 pm | Posted in Dessert, Donuts, Epic FAIL!, Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Oh, well!

You can’t win them all, right?  I tried to make chocolate cake donuts and it didn’t work out very well.  The other day I received “Mini Donuts: 100 Bite-Sized Donut Recipes to Sweeten Your Hole Day” by Jessica Segarra through the Vine Program at Amazon.  I didn’t have a donut machine so I ordered a donut pan from Amazon and as soon as the pan came, I raced into the kitchen.

Here’s what went down:

Ingredients:

1 1/3 cups flour”

1/2 cup cocoa powder

2 tsp. baking powder

1/4 tsp. salt

1 egg

3/4 cup white sugar

3 tbsp. oil

1/4 cup sour cream

1 tsp. vanilla extract

1/2 cup milk

food 021

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F and spray donut pan.

In small bowl, sift together flour, cocoa, baking powder and salt.

food 022

In medium bowl, mix egg and sugar.  Add oil, sour cream, vanilla and milk, mixing so that there are no lumps.

Add flour mixture to wet ingredients and mix well.  My batter was pretty thick, just like cake batter, which is appropriate for cake donuts, right?  Okay.

food 024

Fill pastry bag with batter, up to the fill line.  There has to be some kind of trick to use a pastry bag.  I haven’t figured it out yet. food 023

I was careful, only filled it up to the line and used the small tip with the white plastic pieces that hold the tip in.  My first mistake was using the SMALL tip.  I should have used a bigger one.  This tip is for writing and it didn’t fill the donut pan quickly.  I had to squeeze and squeeze and got annoyed.

Finally I grabbed my other pastry bag and big tip and used that.

food 025

Bake for 8-10 minutes.

I popped them into the oven and crossed my fingers.  Apparently I filled the donut pan too much, because they didn’t have holes when they were finished LOL

food 026

Hmmm.

food 028

Well, let’s try it without as much batter in the pan!

food 027

I knew that this wasn’t going to be enough but I was running out of batter.

After 8 minutes, this is what came out:

food 029

They certainly LOOKED better than the first batch.

food 030

Extremely fat cake donuts and extremely skinny cake donuts.

food 031

Taste?  Well, they are chocolatey.  A bit dry, in my opinion.  I ate one of each and size didn’t matter as far as that went.  The recipe on page 34 of the book is what I used; it has a recipe for icing but I didn’t make icing.  I was too depressed.

I’m going to try a different recipe soon and see what happens.

Live and learn!

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

I love reading your comments! Please leave me your thoughts.

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

