Immaculate Conception of Mary: December 8

December 7, 2012 at 6:08 pm | Posted in Being Catholic, Virgin Mary | Leave a comment

Today we’re going to Mass in order to celebrate tomorrow’s Holy Day, The Immaculate Conception of Mary.  Many of us Catholics are still confused over whose conception we are celebrating; some of us think it’s Mary’s and some think we are celebrating the conception of our Lord.

We celebrate Mary’s conception.  Here is a really cute little article from CatholicMom about the Holy Day of Obligation.  Lots of Protestants mistakenly think that we Catholics idolize Mary and nothing could be further from the truth.  We don’t worship her or idolize her.  Instead, we pray to her to intercede to Her Son.  I mean, think about it….the first miracle that Jesus performed at the wedding in Cana was done because Mary insisted.  Remember?  The party could have ended sadly but Mary insisted that Jesus do something and so he turned the water into wine.  What better person for us to ask to intercede to her son?  He listens to her!

I’ve always loved our Holy Mother in Heaven, but especially after becoming pregnant fourteen years ago.  My mother here on earth loves me, this is true, but she is the very first Mother who loved me and when I’m far from my earthly mom, I know that if I need her, Mary is here for me.  When my son started full-day kindergarten, I was concerned that he’d miss me (well, actually I think I missed him more LOL) so I told him that when he felt lonely, to find the statue of Mary and to say a Holy Mary and that she would enfold him in her arms and keep him safe for me, until I saw him after school.

These days, motherhood is a challenge and I keep in close contact with my Heavenly Mother.

 

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

I love reading your comments! Please leave me your thoughts.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

