Creamed Chipped Beef on Toast

December 13, 2012 at 7:49 pm | Posted in One-Dish Meal, Supper, Uncategorized | 2 Comments

I hadn’t eaten this before meeting my husband.  I’d heard of it, but my mom never fixed it.  My dad knew what it was, since he was in the Marines and he talked about it but not with any type of affection LOL

My husband was in the Navy and ate it there.  He told me last night that his mom used to fix it at home, too.  This was my first attempt at making the dish and it turned out very well.  My husband cleaned his plate and had seconds.  And thirds.

The recipe is from Lisa at AllRecipes and I didn’t change a thing.  Oh, wait – I doubled the recipe!  That’s all.  I’m glad that I did.  My husband really loved it.

Ingredients:

4 tablespoons butter

4 tablespoons all-purpose flour

3 cups milk

2 (8 ounce) jars dried beef (I used Armour)

1 pinch cayenne pepper

loaf of bread

food 001

Rinse the meat; use a colander and make sure you separate all the little slices.  Drain the meat really well.  The meat comes out curled from being in the jar.  If you don’t rinse the meat, the dish will be really, really salty.

Plop the butter and meat into a large skillet.  The heat ought to be on medium high.  The recipe said to use a whisk to make the dish, but I used a spatula and it worked out well.  As the butter melts, stir the meat into it, allowing it to brown.

food 002

Keep stirring the meat and butter until the butter is completely melted.  Slowly begin adding the flour, continuing to stir and scrape the bottom of the pan.

food 003

This is the making of the roux.  Wow, I didn’t know that I spoke French LOL

Continue adding flour and scraping the pan, mixing up the flour, butter and meat.  This is what mine looked like once everything was mixed up:

food 004

Keep stirring and scraping because you want the flour to brown – that way ALL of the flavor will be grabbed up in the roux and you’ll have an incredible gravy.  The way my husband told me to do it (the way his mom made it) is that, “When you think it’s brown enough and you’re ready to add the milk, stop.  It’s not ready yet.  Let it get browner!”

Okay, that’s exactly what I did.  I thought it was ready but figured that it wasn’t.  This process of stirring the meat and flour and butter around took about 15 minutes.  Before it was finally browned the way I thought it was supposed to be, I lowered the heat to medium-low.  Here’s what it looked like when I decided it was ready:

food 005

Oooh, it smelled heavenly!

Time to slowly add the milk.  The recipe said to use warm milk.  I didn’t warm the milk, but it had been sitting out since the beginning of the cooking process, so it wasn’t ice cold.  As the milk is added, continue stirring and scraping the bottom of the skillet.  Add the cayenne pepper once the milk is completely added.

food 008

Raise the heat a bit, to medium-high and keep stirring and scraping.  The mixture eventually begins to thicken into a rich gravy, like this:

food 009

I didn’t let mine bubble.  When my husband fixes biscuits and gravy, he lets his gravy bubble but I worry over milk getting too hot.  It took about ten minutes for my gravy to get nice and hot and thick.  During this time, start popping toast into the toaster.

Pour beef and gravy into serving bowl.

food 010

Prepare the plates:  everyone got two slices of toast, then I let them add their own meat and gravy.  My husband shredded his toast and then poured on the meat and gravy.  My son and I sliced our toast in half and then added the meat and gravy.

food 011

Ta-da!

Oh, it was yummy!  Definitely going to add this to my repertoire!

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. […] for supper I made creamed chipped beef on toast.  It was pretty […]

  2. […] for supper I made creamed chipped beef on toast.  It was pretty […]


I love reading your comments! Please leave me your thoughts.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

