Mississippi Roast

December 16, 2012 at 6:14 pm | Posted in Beef Chuck Roast, Crock Pot, Main Dish, Supper, Uncategorized | 3 Comments

Today was crock pot day!  I’ve been wanting to prepare a “Mississippi Roast” ever since discovering the recipe and drooling over the picture on Pinterest.  The recipe originated from the blog, “Laurie’s Life” and I’m definitely following her now.

This roast is so easy to fix and so delicious!  I purchased a nice, big chuck roast (4 pounds) so we have leftovers.  It’s going to be incredible for lunch on Tuesday, nice and juicy slices of meat on a fresh bagel…oh, wow, I’m drooling again!

Here’s how to do it, with many thanks to Laurie!

Ingredients:

1 chuck roast

1 envelope Hidden Valley Ranch Dressing

1 envelope McCormick Au Jus Gravy

1 stick of butter – the REAL thing

5 pepperocini

MS roast 001

Place roast into large crock pot.

MS roast 002

Pour contents of Ranch dressing on top of roast; pour contents of Au Jus gravy onto roast.  Top with entire stick of butter (wouldn’t Paula Deen be proud of me?) and then top with pepperocini.

MS roast 003

Cover the crock pot, set it on LOW for 8-9 hours (I set mine for 8 and the roast was perfect) and walk away.  Do not open lid, do not pass go, do not collect $200.

After 8 hours, remove roast and let it sit quietly for 5 minutes before you carve into it.  I had to take mine out in pieces, it was so TENDER it was falling apart!

MS roast 006

It smelled heavenly!  For my sides, I prepared grilled asparagus, roasted potatoes and crescent rolls (yes, me and the Poppin’ Fresh guy were busy today).

MS roast 008

Incredible.  I’m sold.  I will definitely be making this Mississippi Roast again.

And again.

And again.

Thank you, Laurie!

3 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. […] had Mississippi Roast once before and it was delicious.  I decided to make it today because we were going to be in the […]

  2. Correction: Laurie was not the original cook for this recipe. It originated with Robin Chapman. It is Ms. Chapman’s recipe. You can google “Mississippi Roast” and read the NY Times account of this lovely woman and her roast recipe and how Laurie came upon the recipe.
    Happy Slow Cooking!

  3. teaching your child to cook

    Mississippi Roast | Seasoned with Life


I love reading your comments! Please leave me your thoughts.

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

