Onion Chicken

December 20, 2012 at 6:15 pm | Posted in Chicken, Main Dish | 1 Comment

I’ve had this recipe in my drawer since 2009 but haven’t made it until tonight. Why did I wait so long? We all loved it!

The recipe paper says that it was printed off from AllRecipes and is courtesy of French’s.  Here’s the link to the recipe at the French’s website:  French’s Crunchy Onion Chicken

Ingredients:

2 chicken breasts

2 cups French’s Original French Fried Onions (I used original but the recipe says you could use the Cheddar onions)

2 tbsp. all purpose flour

1 egg, beaten

Preheat oven to 400 degrees F.

onion chicken 001

I purchased three huge chicken breasts, sliced them up into 10 pieces and used 5 pieces tonight.  The other pieces were popped into a freezer container and into the freezer.

Beat the egg.

Mix the flour and French Fried Onions together, smashing up the onions.  The recipe said to put the onions and flour into a plastic bag and crush the onions with your hands or a rolling pin, then transfer them to a plate or waxed paper.  I didn’t want to smash the onions into oblivion, so I used my spoon and left some of the pieces big.

onion chicken 002

The recipe states that you should dip the chicken into the egg, then coat it with the onion and flour mixture.  That’s not what I did; first I tossed the chicken into the onion and flour mixture:

onion chicken 003

Then, I dropped the chicken into the egg and coated it with egg:

onion chicken 004

And then it went back into the onion and flour mixture:

onion chicken 005

I do the same with my fried chicken.  It puts a nice coating on.  The recipe said to place the chicken on a baking sheet and didn’t mention oiling the pan.  I grabbed my olive oil and slathered about 3 tablespoons of olive oil on my cookie sheet and then dribbled a touch of oil on each chicken piece.

onion chicken 006

Bake in preheated oven for 20 minutes.  Check the chicken’s internal temperature:  it should read 160 degrees F.  Let chicken rest for 5 minutes before serving.

onion chicken 007

Nice and oniony!  Is oniony a word?  I don’t think so….oh well.  The chicken didn’t need any other seasoning, either, because of the onions.

I fixed smashed potatoes and corn.  Everyone filled their tummies and there were no leftovers.  Both of the guys told me to make it again and not wait 3 more years to do so LOL

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. […] I made Onion Chicken for the very first time.  Today, I needed something quick for supper and had some chicken […]


I love reading your comments! Please leave me your thoughts.

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

