Beef Crescent Casserole

December 23, 2012 at 6:59 pm | Posted in Main Dish, Uncategorized | Leave a comment

I found an interesting recipe on AllRecipes and adjusted it to make it mine. It turned out pretty good – there were no leftovers!  I searched for the original recipe at AllRecipes but couldn’t find it.  The printout shows the link at the bottom of the page but it’s cut off.  I even searched under the cook’s name but nothing came up.  My printout is dated November 2011 and the cook is Trann Foley.  So, thank you, Trann, I wish I could find your original recipe.

Here’s my take on Trann’s Crescent-Topped Casserole.

Ingredients:

1/2 pound hamburger

2 tbsp. onion powder

4 oz. meatless spaghetti sauce – I used the remainder of the Prego Tomato Basil & Garlic that I opened the other day

8 oz. package refrigerated crescent rolls

mozzarella cheese – I buy it by the roll and it was pre-sliced

009

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F and spray 8×8 casserole dish.

Open crescent roll package and divide in half.  Take the first half, lay out on a plate and pinch seams together.  Place in sprayed casserole dish and bake for 10 minutes.

010

Brown hamburger and onion powder in small pan.  Drain and add spaghetti sauce.

013

Let it bubble and get hot while the bottom crust browns in the oven.

014

Remove crust from oven.  You may need to poke a few holes with a fork if it’s puffy.  Mine wasn’t too puffy but I poked a couple of holes in it anyway.

015

Gently pour hamburger and sauce on top of the crust and spread around evenly.

016

Top with mozzarella.  I love this mozzarella from Bel Gioioso!  It comes in a roll of slices, mozzarella pearls 0r a roll that opens up completely.  This time I purchased the kind that comes in slices.

011

See how thick the slices are?  Oooh, can’t wait to bake this and see how gooey it gets!

018

Now, take other half of crescent rolls and pinch seams shut and lay on top of the casserole.

019

Pop into the oven for 25 minutes, uncovered.  After 25 minutes, let it sit for 5 minutes before slicing and serving.

023

Oh, wow!  Can you see the cheese?

026

It was so good!  We had green beans with it.  Look at that ooey-gooey cheese.  Definitely going to make this again.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

I love reading your comments! Please leave me your thoughts.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

