Christmas 2012

December 26, 2012 at 6:42 pm | Posted in Asparagus, Bread, Christmas 2012, Ham, Potatoes | Leave a comment

The cooking started on December 24 and didn’t stop until just before we ate at 4:00 pm Christmas Day. Yum! I didn’t get a lot of prepping pictures, we were just too busy!

Here are a few of the things we had:

Sausage Gravy

Sausage Gravy

Breakfast was biscuits and gravy.  My husband has been making B&G for holiday breakfasts as long as I can remember.  He taught me how to do this on Thanksgiving morning and so it was my job on Christmas morning.  The gravy turned out really well!  Oh, but there’s no recipe written down.  I took a pound of sausage and browned it thoroughly, added about three tablespoons of flour and browned it really well and then added milk – maybe two cups?  Let it get really hot, let it boil a moment or two and then it’s ready to eat.

We didn’t have lunch, we had an early supper.

Our meat was a ham, a shank portion.  My husband wanted me to buy a butt portion and I thought that was what I picked out, but when I got home, it was a shank, which has more fat and more bone.

Christmas 2012 023

My husband scored the ham and pressed whole cloves into it.  I made a glaze of Coca Cola, brown sugar, pineapple juice and marachino cherry juice.  Yes, that’s Boots watching him.  She got pretty close until he noticed her and then he shooed her away.  There’s no recipe for the glaze, I just had read about using Coca Cola with ham and since we had the pineapple and cherry juice, tossed it in with the brown sugar and Coke and called it done.

Christmas 2012 029

Ron’s own potato salad.  He makes the BEST potato salad.  The potato salad was made on Christmas Eve.  There’s no recipe for this – it’s my husband’s specialty.  Nobody makes potato salad as good as this.  Period.

Christmas 2012 028

I made an orange Jello salad.  It was made with orange Jello, a can of condensed milk, 8 ounces of cream cheese and a carton of Cool Whip.  I made it on Christmas Eve and had a taste that night, just to be certain that it was edible.

Christmas 2012 034

Oops!  Almost forgot to share the pic of the pineapple and cherries that baked on the ham.  Yum!  They were glazed with the juice and brown sugar and Coke.  Reallllllllllly sweeeeeeet!

Christmas 2012 037

Homemade rolls, recipe courtesy of Betty Crocker.  Thank goodness for my Sunbeam mixer with the kneading hooks.

I forgot to take a picture of the asparagus – we had roasted asparagus.  Yum!

Christmas 2012 038

My mom had promised to make a coconut cake for my hubby but she sent this instead.  It’s a layer cake with strawberry jam in between the layers.  She didn’t make it to our home for Christmas; she’s got a really bad sinus infection and fever.  I’m not sure where she got the cake from…it didn’t have a sticker from the local grocery store.

So, we had some good eats.  Today we had ham and potato salad and Jello salad and fresh green beans for supper.  Oh, and I made homemade blueberry muffins and forgot to take pictures….I think I’m still tired from yesterday!

There is a nice big chunk of ham and bone in the freezer.  When I get the energy, I’ll buy some beans and make ham and bean soup with some homemade corn bread.  Sounds delicious.  Sounds like a lot of work.  It’s going to have to wait for a week or two LOL

It was a delicious Christmas.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

I love reading your comments! Please leave me your thoughts.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

