Salisbury Steaks with Onion Gravy

December 29, 2012 at 6:58 pm | Posted in Main Dish, Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Supper tonight was Salisbury Steaks with Onion Gravy.  The recipe is from Martha Stewart’s website.  Normally I don’t have anything in common with Martha Stewart but her salisbury steaks looked good and I figured my two guys would like them, so I printed off the recipe and made a couple of adjustments since I wasn’t going to feed 6 people.  Here’s how I did it:

Ingredients

3 tbsp. canola oil

1 medium onion, sliced

1 slice white bread

1 pound hamburger, I like to use 80/20

1 garlic clove, minced

1 large egg

1 tsp. Worcestershire sauce plus a dash for the gravy

salt and pepper, to taste

1 tsp. cornstarch, plus a bit for dusting on the steaks

1 1/2 cups beef broth

food 008

Heat oil in large skillet and brown onion slices.  The original recipe said to let them carmelize for 35 minutes.

food 010

I let mine cook for about 15 minutes, then removed them and put them on a plate.

food 017

Tear bread up into pieces and soak in egg and milk.  Add garlic, parsley, salt and pepper.  Let the bread soak everything up really well.  Add meat and start to mix up.

food 009

To do the best job of mixing it up, use your hands.  Yes, it’s messy but it works well.

food 011

I divided mine up into four balls, which I let sit and rest.

food 012

Form each ball into a rectangular shape.  Dust with a bit of cornstarch.  Using same pan that onions were browned it, turn heat up to medium-high.  Add patties and let them brown for about 6 minutes without turning.

food 014

At the end of 6 minutes, carefully flip.  Let them cook for about 8-9 minutes.  I dusted a bit more cornstarch on the other side of the patties.

food 015

After time is up, remove patties to serving dish.  Prepare broth if you haven’t already done so.  I microwaved the water on HIGH for about 8 minutes, removed the measuring cup from the microwave and tossed in a beef bouillon cube and let it cool while the meat cooked.  After the broth cooled, I stirred in the cornstarch and whisked it around so that it blended well.

food 018

With heat up to medium-high, return onions to skillet.  Pour the broth into the skillet.  Turn heat to high and continually stir the broth mixture until it thickens.  This might take 4-5 minutes.

Pour gravy on top of Salisbury steaks and serve hot.

food 020

I fixed macaroni and cheese with the Salisbury steaks.  My two guys love the mac & cheese out of the blue box.  My son picked green peas for the veggie and I popped open a tube of crescent rolls.

food 021

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

I love reading your comments! Please leave me your thoughts.

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

