Crock Pot Chicken

December 30, 2012 at 11:45 pm | Posted in Chicken, Crock Pot, Main Dish | Leave a comment

Tonight’s supper was incredibly delicious.

The recipe is courtesy of Sloppy Jo.  I found the recipe on Pinterest and followed the link to Jo’s blog.  Thank you so much for this recipe – it was amazing!  And so easy to make.

Ingredients:

3 tsp. salt

2 tsp. paprika

1 tsp. cayenne pepper (I used crushed red pepper)

1 tsp. onion powder

1 tsp. thyme

1 tsp. garlic powder (Jo’s recipe called for 1/2 tsp. but I love garlic)

1/2 tsp. black pepper

crock pot chick 001

Mix spices well.

crock pot chick 003

Pretty, isn’t it?

Prep your chicken.

crock pot chick 002

Mine didn’t have gizzards or the neck inside, so I just needed to rinse it with cold water and then pat it dry.  Slice up one onion and layer it on the bottom of the crock pot.  Set the chicken in the crock pot and start rubbing the spices into it.

crock pot chick 004

Jo’s recipe says that you could rub the chicken with the spices and let it marinate all night long; maybe I’ll do that next time.

crock pot chick 005

Make sure you get the spices rubbed in all over the chicken.  I turned my chicken around a bit so that every little bit got spiced.  No need to add water – really!  I didn’t believe it at first when I read that, but decided to trust the recipe, so I put the lid on and set the crock pot for LOW for 8 hours.

They say to NEVER open the lid on the crock pot but I don’t pay attention to directions all the time and I peeked.  I grabbed my baster and sopped up some of the broth and basted the chicken.  There was a LOT of broth!

crock pot chick 011

My teen son wanted to help me baste.  We basted twice, once when there were 2 hours to go and then again when there was about an hour left on the timer.

crock pot chick 012

When the 8 hours were up, I gently picked the chicken up and set it on a platter.  It was so tender and moist that a drumstick fell off and needed to be rescued!

crock pot chick 013

Oooooooooooooh, it smelled heavenly!  I let it rest for about 15 minutes while everything else finished cooking (I roasted sweet potatoes and russet potatoes, made fresh green beans and the Pillsbury dude made some biscuits for me).

I sliced the chicken up before setting it on the table.  It was so tender and easy to carve.

crock pot chick 014

Yum!  I had to holler at my teenager to keep his fingers out of the chicken and wait until after we said our prayer.

crock pot chick 016

I had a drumstick.  And then I had some more dark meat.  Yum!  I will definitely make this again.  My guys each had seconds and said that it was a very good meal.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

I love reading your comments! Please leave me your thoughts.

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

