Tortellini Sausage Soup

January 1, 2013 at 7:09 pm | Posted in Italian, Main Dish, Soups & Stews | Leave a comment

This recipe is from Lil’ Luna.  I made just a couple of adjustments to the recipe.  It was delicious and just perfect for a cold, January meal.

Ingredients:

1 pound sweet Italian links

3 cloves of garlic

1 cup apple cider

4 cups beef broth

2 cans of Progresso Recipe Starters, Fire Roasted Tomato flavor

1 tbsp. dried basil

1 tbsp. dried oregano

1 tbsp. dried parsley

2 carrots

1 small zucchini

8 oz. refrigerated cheese tortellini

Preheat oven to 275 degrees F.

t-s soup 002

I sliced up my sausage links and then cut the slices into fourths, tossed them into my big, heavy pot and let them brown.

t-s soup 003

The original recipe called for a 15 ounce can of diced tomatoes and an 8 ounce can of tomato sauce but I scratched my head and wondered if the Progresso Fire Roasted Tomatoes would be a better choice.

t-s soup 004

I decided that they would be.  Each can is 18 ounces and I used two.  I added the garlic and other spices in the pot with the browning sausage.  Mmm, it smelled incredible!

t-s soup 005

Then, I added the apple cider and beef broth (the original recipe called for chicken broth).

t-s soup 006

Then I added the Progresso.

t-s soup 007

Then I put the lid on and set it in the oven for three hours.  At the end of the three hours, remove the pot – be careful, it’s really hot!

I used a big pot and filled it with salted water, set it on high and waited for it to come to a boil.  Time to chop the veggies!

t-s soup 009

I usually put the veggies into the soup pot but then when I freeze leftovers and then later thaw the soup and reheat it, the veggies are mushy.  We don’t like mushy veggies!  Today I decided to cook the veggies with the tortellini.  The carrots when into the pot before the water started to boil; once the water boiled, I added the zucchini and the tortellini.

t-s soup 010

Boil for about 8 minutes – don’t overdo it.  Drain in colander.

t-s soup 011

The soup was still really hot, so all I did was scoop up some tortellini and veggies into each bowl, then top it with broth and sausage.

t-s soup 013

Mix it up and you’re set to eat!  I baked a loaf of bread that I found in the bakery section of the grocery store, put the butter on the table and the Parmesan cheese and we had supper.

t-s soup 012

It was really, really good!  And there’s plenty of soup to freeze for later, as well as some tortellini.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

I love reading your comments! Please leave me your thoughts.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

