Raspberry Pork Chops

January 5, 2013 at 8:16 pm | Posted in Main Dish | Leave a comment

Supper was excellent – both of my guys agreed and I did, too.

I’m not sure where the recipe came from; it was handwritten and buried in my drawer of recipes.

Ingredients:

1/2 tsp. thyme

1/2 tsp. sage

1/4 tsp. salt

1/4 tsp. pepper

3 pork chops

1 tbsp. butter

1 tbsp. olive oil

1/4 cup seedless raspberry jam

2 tbsp. apple cider (the original recipe I wrote down called for OJ but I was out)

2 tbsp. red wine vinegar (the original recipe I wrote down called for white but I thought red would go better with the cider)

Combine spices in a small dish.

rasp chick 001

Rub spices over both sides of chops.

rasp chick 003

Heat butter and olive oil in skillet big enough to hold all of the chops.

rasp chick 002

When butter and oil begin to bubble, the skillet is hot enough.

rasp chick 004

Add the chops and let them brown on high-heat for about five minutes.

rasp chick 006

Mix the jam, cider and vinegar in a small dish while the chops brown on both sides, on medium high heat.

rasp chick 005

The chops need to cook thoroughly.  Check their temp with a kitchen thermometer.  The thermometer should read at least 170 degrees F.  When using the thermometer, poke it into the side of the thickest chop, don’t hit any bone, and then wait.  If it hits 170 degrees F, then remove the chops to the serving dish.

rasp chick 007

Mmm!  In the same skillet that the chops cooked in, add the jam, cider and vinegar.

rasp chick 008

I measured my cider and vinegar and just eye-balled the jam.  There’s probably more than 1/4 cup of raspberry jam in the skillet.  Bring this to a boil and let the jam dissolve.  It takes about 5 minutes, which is good because the chops need to rest that long before being cut into.

rasp chick 009

Oooh, it smelled so good!  My 13-year old started circling the kitchen asking me what smelled so good.  Pour it on top of the chops.

rasp chick 010Doesn’t it look good?

rasp chick 011

Ready to go to the table!  We had mixed veggies and buttered potatoes and half of a French baguette.

rasp chick 012

I poured some extra raspberry sauce on top of my chop after taking this picture.  Yum!

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

I love reading your comments! Please leave me your thoughts.

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

