Honey Mustard Garlic Chicken Drumsticks

January 6, 2013 at 6:30 pm | Posted in Chicken, Main Dish | Leave a comment

Do you like garlic? If you do, then this dish is for YOU!

I found the recipe at Food.com and the only thing I did differently was not cook as many drumsticks (I only had six!) and I baked them, rather than grill them, and I added butter to the cookie sheet that they were baked on.

Ingredients:

Chicken drumsticks, 6-8

3 tbsp. honey

2 tbsp. Dijon mustard

2 tbsp. soy sauce

1 tbsp. lemon juice

1/2 tsp. black pepper

Jan 6 001

Oh, and don’t forget the garlic cloves:  6!

Jan 6 002

Hmm, actually, I think I used more than 6?

Okay, here’s what you do:  grab a container that you can lay all the legs in, so that they can get marinated.  Toss in the honey, mustard, soy sauce, lemon juice, pepper and garlic.

Jan 6 004

Mix it all up, nice and pretty!

Jan 6 005

Take each drumstick and score a few slices into them; I did three or four altogether.

Jan 6 006

This will help let the marinade soak into the chicken.  Once all the legs are ready, set them in the marinade and pop it into the fridge.  Mine marinated a couple of hours, then I flipped the container over so that the other side got juiced.  After a couple of hours flipped on its top, it was time to bake the legs.

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.  I grabbed my shallow 9×13 cookie sheet and buttered it up.  Lots of butter was involved.

chick 001

I even sliced up some butter to get some extra-yummy action on the pan.

Here are the chicken legs, ready to leave their bath and jump onto the pan.

chick 002

Set the legs on the pan, add a few more pats of butter…

chick 003

Pop into the oven for 25 minutes.  At the end of 25 minutes, remove pan.

chick 005

Time to flip them over and dribble the garlicky, buttery juices over them.  Return to oven for another 25 minutes.

chick 006

Oooh!  Sweet goodness!  Some of the honey burnt on my cookie sheet – I figured that would happen.  Let the chicken rest for a full 5 minutes before serving.

chick 007

I made white rice (with chicken broth) and green beans to go along with the drumsticks.  And, there are two legs left-over for left-overs in a couple of days.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

I love reading your comments! Please leave me your thoughts.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

