Pancake Morning

January 7, 2013 at 11:08 am | Posted in Epic FAIL!, Pancakes, Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Life is funny.  Cooking is fun.  Sometimes cooking is funny.  Mistakes are made.  Sometimes you can’t figure out what you did wrong until you try again.  This morning was one of those mornings.

I wanted blueberry pie pancakes.  I’ve made them numerous times since discovering them.  One morning, I even managed to triple the recipe for all three of us to enjoy them before Mass.  That was the last time I read the recipe; since then, I hadn’t bothered.  This morning, I just started grabbing ingredients and went along my merry way until I had poured the batter into my skillet and realized that the pancakes didn’t  look right.

I finished cooking them and put them in a plate and kept staring at them, wondering what I did wrong.

002

 

They didn’t look like any of the pancakes I had ever made before.  So, into the trash can they went and I chalked them up as another EPIC FAIL.

Thankfully I had more blueberries.  This time, I went to the recipe book and read it and thought, “Well, I did everything right!  What happened?”

Back to the kitchen I went:  grabbed the flour, oatmeal, cinnamon sugar, blueberries, milk, oil….and then….what?!

003

 

Oh!  The cornstarch and the baking powder were right next to each other – I used the CORNSTARCH instead of the baking powder in the first batch of pancakes!  Oh, my!  No wonder….

So, I tucked the cornstarch back into the cabinet and hid it behind the cocoa and used the baking powder.

004

 

Much better.  This is what I get for rushing and not looking at containers.  Can’t blame it on the fact that I hadn’t had my morning coffee because I don’t drink coffee.  Ah, life in the kitchen…sometimes you win and sometimes you toss things into the trash and giggle about it.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

I love reading your comments! Please leave me your thoughts.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

