Ham, Apples & Potato Casserole

January 10, 2013 at 7:10 pm | Posted in Casserole, Ham, One-Dish Meal, Ouch, Supper, Uncategorized | 1 Comment

Supper was delicious!  This yummy one-dish meal is courtesy of Just Casserole Recipes.  I made a couple of adjustments, of course.  Sometimes I can’t leave well enough alone LOL

Ingredients:

One 1-lb. ham slice, bone-in and cooked

1 huge sweet potato, peeled and sliced 1/4 inch thick

1 huge russet potato, peeled and sliced 1/4 inch thick

3 red apples, unpeeled and sliced (I used Gala apples)

3/4 cup hot water (I used it hot from the faucet)

cinnamon sugar

butter

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.

ham 001

I had two HUGE potatoes and such pretty apples.

The recipe instructions said to brown the ham before placing into a baking dish; me, I was feeling lazy and decided that I didn’t care if my ham slice was brown or not, so into the sprayed 9×13 casserole dish it went.  I topped the ham with the potatoes and apples, sprinkled on cinnamon sugar (didn’t measure, just decided when it looked like enough), then put a few pats of butter over the whole thing.

ham 002

Pour the hot water over the whole thing and then covered it with foil – sprayed with Pam so that the apples and potatoes wouldn’t stick to the foil.

I sprayed my foil with PAM.  Important note: do it over the sink, so that you don't get PAM on the floor and slip!

I sprayed my foil with PAM. Important note: do it over the sink, so that you don’t get PAM on the floor and slip!

Pop into the oven for 45 minutes.

ham 005

At the end of the 45 minutes, I used my baster to remove most of the liquid; there was a LOT.  Poke the potatoes with a fork to be certain that they’re pretty much done.

Looks like more than 3/4 cup

Looks like more than 3/4 cup

Return uncovered dish to oven for 15 more minutes.  Remove dish at the end of the 15 minutes, scoop out the potatoes and apples; lightly cover them with the foil you baked them with, so that they stay hot.

ham 008

Plate the ham and allow it to rest for 5 minutes.

ham 009

Yum – it looks good, even though I didn’t brown it.  Plus, I saved having to wash a skillet:  bonus points for me!

I found some really soft and fresh Hawaiian rolls at the grocery store:

ham 007

Supper was delicious.

On a side-note, I did something that I haven’t done in a LONG TIME:  sliced my thumb open a bit.  I was slicing my sweet potatoes and had a thick piece that I wanted to cut in half.  Well, it was too thin for me to hold safely but I tried anyway….and…

ham 004

Ouch!

Needless to say, that piece of potato got tossed into the trash.  I called my teen son upstairs to help me; he had to grab the band-aids while I applied pressure to the cut, and then he put the band-aid on for me.  Thankfully it was my left thumb and I’m right handed so I could finish making supper.

Morale of this mini-story:  if it seems to be awkward to hold and slice, DON’T try it!  It’s not worth slicing your thumb up.

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. […] the other day when I sliced my thumb?  I think it was last Thursday.  The next morning, I went to see my family doctor because she wanted to take a peek at my left […]


I love reading your comments! Please leave me your thoughts.

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

