Onion Chicken, My Way

January 17, 2013 at 7:35 pm | Posted in Chicken, Main Dish, My Own Creation | Leave a comment

Recently, I made Onion Chicken for the very first time.  Today, I needed something quick for supper and had some chicken tenderloins in the freezer; I took them out to thaw and then stood there, staring at them and wondering what they could turn themselves into.

Well, they never said what they wanted to be, so I took off to the grocery store.

I can be a dangerous person when I’m walking around the grocery store without a list.  The only thing that saved me today was the fact that I only had $40 in my checking account.

My feet ended up taking me into the aisle where they have the French fried onions.  Hmm.  Last time I made that, the guys really enjoyed it.  So, I grabbed a small container of the fried onions.  I liked the recipe that French’s shared but decided to fix it up to “my way”

Ingredients:

1 pound of chicken tenderloins

1 container of French’s French Fried Onions

1 5-ounce container of evaporated milk*

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.  Spray an 11 x 7 casserole dish with butter-flavored PAM, or you can use real butter, maybe three tablespoons?  I used PAM.

January 17 012

 

Pour the evaporated milk into the container of chicken tenders.

January 17 013

 

 

Let the chicken soak for about five minutes; this is about the length of time it took me to crunch up the onions.  I used most of the container of onions, which you can see below.

January 17 014

 

Take a chicken tender from the milk, let it drain a bit, then gently slide it into the onions and crunch around, covering the entire chicken tender with onions.  Set the chicken tenders in the prepared casserole dish.

January 17 016

 

Spray the top of the tenders with buttery PAM.  Or, again, if you prefer, add a pat of butter to each chicken piece.

Bake chicken, uncovered, for 20 minutes.

January 17 018

 

Remove from oven, flip chicken pieces over and respray with PAM.  Bake for 15 more minutes; remove from oven and let them rest for five minutes.

January 17 019

 

Crispy!

January 17 020

 

We had zero leftovers tonight.

 

 

 

 

*yes, I know, I have been BOYCOTTING this company (Nestle) for nearly 14 years, but they were the only ones who had evaporated milk on the shelf; I didn’t want generic milk.  Blah!  There was nobody around to ask where the other brands of evaporated milk was, either.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

I love reading your comments! Please leave me your thoughts.

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

