5 Minute Friday: CHERISHED

January 18, 2013 at 11:27 am | Posted in 5 Minute Friday | 2 Comments

Five Minute Friday

I am cherished.  Never in my life would I have ever imagined the love and sweetness that my husband has for me.  He cherishes me!  It used to be just a word in a song, something that I couldn’t imagine.  I wasn’t worthy.  Then he walked into my life.  I wasn’t looking for him and he says he wasn’t looking for me but we found each other.

It is a look across the room; a giggle at the supper table that our teenage son doesn’t quite understand; it’s talking in bed after lights out; listening to him and knowing that he’s listening to me.

He is tender, gentle and loving.  I saw a relative being abused by her husband during her marriage and I swore I would never allow that.  He has never scared me; he is so calm and steady, he is my rock.  When I am scared, I run to him.  He runs to me, too.

I cherish him.  Life is precious.  He has terminal cancer; it doesn’t get any more precious than this.  I want to be his rock in this storm and some days it’s hard.  Some days all I can do is cry my prayers and hope that God really hears me.  Some days all I can do is hold his hand, put my arms around him and cry with him.

Being cherished is the most incredible thing; being able to cherish my husband is the best gift.  It’s a daily gift.  We’ve been together 26 years and married 25.  I won’t lie and tell you there haven’t been rough spots because there have been.  But never once have we stopped loving each other.  Liking?  Probably!  There are things he does that make me growl and things that I do that cause him to growl.

But I never doubt his love.  It’s all encompassing, it covers me.  I can get through my days and nights knowing that he is mine and I am his.

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Thanks for sharing your sweet feelings for your hubby. I’m so sorry to hear about his cancer. I can’t imagine a more challenging experience than that. I have recently been learning a lot about the positive effects of eating a whole food diet and it’s effects on cancer. Have you ever watched the movie Forks over Knives? (you can view it on Netflix) It probably isn’t my place (I don’t even know you) but maybe it would help…I wish you all the blessings from Heaven! And please forgive me if I was out of place.

  2. Thank you for visiting and thanks for your kind words. We have changed the way we eat – although we could stand to make more positive changes. I’ve never seen “Forks over Knives” nor have I heard of it, but will keep it in mind.


I love reading your comments! Please leave me your thoughts.

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

