Grilled Cheese and Chunky Potato Soup

January 19, 2013 at 2:10 pm | Posted in Sandwich, Soups & Stews | Leave a comment

On the way home from St. Louis the other day, we saw a billboard on the highway announcing an Amish Bakery and Deli in Cuba, Missouri.  I told my mom that we needed to take a detour and check it out and I’m glad that we did.

The Cuba Bakery and Deli is located on Route 66 in a really cool building.  We arrived just after 11:00 a.m., and part of me wanted to hang out until lunch time.  One of the women was slicing up lunch meats and cheeses and everything looked amazing.  Half of the store is the deli and bakery; I ended up having a blueberry muffin and it was incredible!  Along with the deli and bakery, there are tons of Amish made goods:  pasta, chow chow, pickles, soup mixes, candies, seasonings…too many things to remember!

I purchased some black licorice for hubby and some candy for my son; I also grabbed a soup mix for Chunky Potato Soup.  That’s what I fixed today for lunch.  Daniel had a friend spend the night, so for lunch I made the soup along with some grilled cheese sandwiches.

The soup was easy-peasy to make:  take 3/4 cup of dry soup mix and add it to 2 1/2 cups of water or milk.  Oh, wait!  Since I had two teenagers to feed, plus myself, I doubled the recipe.

Whisk it together on medium-high heat.  Bring to a boil and let it boil for a couple of minutes; lower heat and cover for ten minutes.  Ready to serve!  I sliced up some bacon (left from breakfast), green onions, and offered cheddar cheese and sour cream for more toppings.

grilled chz potato soup 002

Yum!  It was good!

grilled chz potato soup 005

I needed to make enough grilled cheese for two hungry teenage boys, so I remembered a trick I found on Pinterest, followed the link to the page with the directions and here’s how it went down:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.

I grabbed eight slices of bread, four thick slices of cheddar and butter.  Buttered one side of each slice of bread and put it butter-side down on the cookie sheet; topped it with a slice of cheddar; buttered one side of another slice of bread and put it butter-side up on the sandwich.  Repeat to make four sandwiches.

grilled chz potato soup 001

Top with a second cookie sheet.

grilled chz potato soup 003

Pop into oven for about 10 minutes; remove from oven and flip sandwiches.  Set cookie sheet back on top of sandwiches and bake for another 10 minutes.

grilled chz potato soup 004

Slice and serve!

grilled chz potato soup 006

Crispy, crunchy and they were all ready at once, which made the two guys happy.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

I love reading your comments! Please leave me your thoughts.

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

