Cheesy Scalloped Potatoes

January 20, 2013 at 6:28 pm | Posted in Potatoes, Side Dish | Leave a comment

I had the pork tenderloin in the crock pot and was sitting here at the computer wondering what to make alongside the pork.  One of my favorite websites is AllRecipes so I went there; one of my favorite things to do at their site is go to their INGREDIENT SEARCH page, type in what I have on hand and click the SEARCH button.

Today for the primary search I typed in POTATOES and under ingredients I typed in RUSSET POTATOES and CHEDDAR CHEESE.  This dish popped up as the most popular, with 4.5 out of 5 stars and 2,393 reviews.  Sounded like a winner to me!

Of course, you know me, I don’t always follow a recipe 100% and so, here is my take on Cathy M’s Creamy AuGratin Potatoes.

Ingredients:

Three russet potatoes

3 tbsp. real butter

2 tbsp. flour

2 tbsp. black pepper

2 tbsp. onion powder

2 tbsp. garlic powder

1 tbsp. salt

2 cups milk

1 cup shredded cheddar

four slices of cheddar (leftover from the grilled cheese sandwiches I made yesterday – waste not, want not!)

paprika, just a shake or two

Preheat oven to 400 degrees F and butter 8 x 8 casserole dish.  I took two slices of cheddar and ripped them into pieces and set them on the bottom of my casserole dish.

pork 005

Peel and slice potatoes; I left mine pretty thick, maybe 1/2 inch thick and then sliced them in half. Place potatoes in pot, cover with enough water to barely cover them, sprinkle with a tablespoon of Kosher salt and put on high and let them cook while you prepare the cheese sauce.

pork 001

Grab a heavy-bottomed sauce pan; melt butter on medium-high heat.

pork 003

Have your flour and milk ready.

pork 004

Once the butter is completely melted and a bit bubbly,

pork 006

whisk in the flour….

pork 007

and continue whisking for another minute or so.

pork 008

Slowly pour in the milk, continuing to whisk as you do so.

pork 009

It’s hard to take pictures and whisk and pour.  Shake your spices into the shredded cheddar.

pork 002

Let your milk mixture get really, really hot, almost boiling.  Leave the heat on medium-high; if it doesn’t boil, it won’t get thick.  I always worry about my milk curdling but so far, it’s all turned out alright.

pork 010

It was now that I added the other two slices of cheddar, ripped up.  It helped get the thickening started.

pork 011

Add the shredded cheddar.

pork 012

Keep whisking and keep heat on medium-high.

pork 013

Mmm, look how cheesy!  By now the potatoes are boiling…

pork 014

Drain potatoes in colander and pour them into casserole dish.

pork 015

Pour cheese sauce on top and sprinkle with paprika.

pork 017

Cover with foil and pop into oven for 45 minutes.

pork 018

At the end of 45 minutes, remove foil and return to oven for 15 more minutes until really brown and bubbly.

pork 020

Garnish with yummy fresh onion greens – my son found these outside yesterday, remember?  I used them on the buttered potatoes that we had with our steaks.

Yum!

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

I love reading your comments! Please leave me your thoughts.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

