Creamed Eggs over Toast

January 21, 2013 at 6:11 pm | Posted in Eggs, Uncategorized | Leave a comment

I had breakfast for lunch today.  Sometimes we have breakfast for supper.

The other day I grabbed some eggs at the grocery store and today decided to use them to make Creamed Eggs on Toast.  Kind of like Creamed Chipped Beef on Toast, but with eggs.  The recipe is courtesy of JoyceJIII on All Recipes.  The original recipe was for three people.  I’m not three people so I  adjusted it for one, then readjusted it again.  You know me, I can’t follow directions LOL

Ingredients:

2 boiled eggs, sliced

1 tbsp. butter

1 tbsp. flour

2/3 cup milk

salt and pepper

2 slices of toast

001

See the package of boiled eggs?  Already boiled and peeled.  For some reason unknown to me, I can BOIL the eggs but when it’s time to peel the shells off, I take half the egg white off.  I’ve tried every trick I can find but it doesn’t work.  Nothing works.  So in order to save my sanity, I purchase them ready-to-eat.

Okay, on with the directions.  Melt butter in a small sauce pan on medium-high heat.

003

When it’s nice and bubbly and hot, add the flour and start whisking.  I didn’t get a picture of this part because the stove was really, really hot.  After the flour and butter are well blended and bubbly, slowly add the milk and continue whisking until all of the milk has been added to the pot.

004

Keep the heat up on medium high and let the mixture boil a bit.  Add the sliced up eggs.

004

Keep stirring and let it boil a tiny bit and let the eggs get nice and hot.

006

My white sauce turned a bit yellow from the egg yolks.  Turn heat off, and pour egg and sauce over the toast.  Eat up!  I had a lot of sauce, so much that I needed a spoon to sop up the soggy toast.  And, yes, this is COMFORT FOOD at its best.

007

Delicious.  Oh and no, I didn’t eat all of this food – there was way too much for me.  My Snowshoe Siamese had licks of white sauce and egg from her perch right next to me at the table.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

I love reading your comments! Please leave me your thoughts.

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

