Macaroni Tuna Casserole

January 21, 2013 at 6:26 pm | Posted in Casserole, Main Dish, Tuna | Leave a comment

Remember on my menu that I posted the other day, when I mentioned that I hadn’t made the Macaroni Tuna Casserole that had been on that menu plus the one before?  The casserole that I just hadn’t been able to make?  Well it got made tonight for the first and last time if I have anything to say about it.

Meh.

I didn’t like it.  The teen boy liked it and the husband said it was “alright” but I took a couple of bites and just stared at the rest of it on my plate.

It happens.

The recipe is from Just Casseroles and maybe you and your crew will enjoy it.

Ingredients:

1 cup macaroni noodles

1 can (7 ounces) of tuna, packed in water; drained

1 can (8 ounces) of tomato sauce

1/2 cup small curd cottage cheese

1/4 cup sour cream

3 tbsp. onion powder

1/2 tsp. salt

plain bread crumbs

butter

PAM butter-flavored spray for the casserole dish

008

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F and spray the casserole dish with PAM.

Boil the macaroni in salted water for about 5 minutes.  When prepping pasta for a casserole dish, I never, ever, ever boil it for the amount stated on the box because it’s going to cook even more in the oven.  I hate mushy pasta.  So, I cut the time by a few minutes depending on the type of pasta.  These elbow noodles said it would take 8-9 minutes to boil them al dente, so I stopped at 5 minutes.  You need to decide for yourself how you like your pasta.

010

While the pasta boils, in a large bowl, flake the drained tuna along with the other ingredients.

011

 

Mix it all up.   Drain pasta and add to bowl and gently fold together.  Pour into prepared casserole dish.  Sprinkle bread crumbs around edges of casserole dish and dot with butter.

012

 

Pop into hot oven, uncovered, for 30 minutes.  At the end of 30 minutes, remove and let sit for 5 minutes.

013

 

My son asked me if that was cinnamon sugar around the edges.  It kind of looks like it could be, doesn’t it?

014

 

So it turned out to be an orangey tuna macaroni thing that I took a couple of bites of and decided not to finish.  I ate my veggies.  Later on, I’m going to dig out the cottage cheese and have some with some peaches that are in the fridge.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

I love reading your comments! Please leave me your thoughts.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

