Slow Cooker Chicken and Rice

January 23, 2013 at 10:03 am | Posted in Casserole, Chicken, Crock Pot, Main Dish, One-Dish Meal | Leave a comment

This recipe is courtesy of Christy Jordan’s Southern Plate.  I started off following her recipe but changed half-way through.  Here’s my take on the meal:

1 pound chicken tenders

3 tbsp. onion powder

1 box Zatarain’s Yellow Rice Mix (8 ounce box, prepared according to box)

1 can (10.5 ounces) cream of chicken soup

1 can (15 ounces) whole kernel corn, drained

1 jar of chicken gravy

001

 

 

My chicken tenders were frozen so rather than just toss them in for 7-8 hours (at 10 a.m.) I put them in at 8 a.m.

I poured on the soup and sprinkled the onion powder on top of that; the original recipe called for onions but my teenager won’t eat onions, so onion powder is my substitution.

002

 

Not a good picture; it’s hard to take a picture of a black crock, but you can see the chicken and soup.  Cover and set on LOW for 10 hours.

I checked the chicken around 12 noon and the soup was starting to burn around the edges of the crock.  I checked the temp of the chicken and it was finished.  Hmmm, what to do?

I turned off the crock pot and made my rice.

003

 

Yum, I love rice.

004

 

Nice and fluffy; I drained the corn and mixed it up with the rice.  I decided to grab my 11 x 7 casserole dish, spray it with butter-flavored PAM and toss the rice and corn into it.

005

 

Then the chicken and soup mixture went on top of this.

006

 

It looked a bit dry, so I brainstormed a while.  Meanwhile, I covered the casserole with foil and popped it into the fridge.

When it was 5:00 p.m., I removed the casserole dish from the fridge and preheated my oven to 350 degrees F.

I had a jar of chicken gravy leftover from something earlier, so decided to pour it on top of the chicken and soup.  Brilliant!

007

 

Re-covered it with the foil and popped it into the oven for 30 minutes; then removed the foil and let it brown and bubble for 15 more minutes.

009

 

Nice and chickeny and saucy.  My husband called it one of my Yellow Meals since everything in the casserole dish was yellow; my son said that the chicken was brown.  Hubby said, “Close enough.”

Oh well.  It was delicious.  Next time, I think I’ll just forget about the crock pot and the Zatarain’s Rice and soup, and use the oven and regular brown rice with chicken gravy.

010

 

Oh and the original recipe called for cheese but it seemed like there were already too many things in the dish, so I left the cheese out.

Tonight we’re going out for supper because the teenager has an Academic Team Meet in Wheaton.  Go, Eagles!

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

I love reading your comments! Please leave me your thoughts.

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

