Fried Potatoes

January 26, 2013 at 7:18 pm | Posted in Potatoes, Side Dish | 2 Comments

Jan 26 026

Tonight I prepared those incredible steaks that start out on the stove-top and are finished in the oven.  My husband had another stomach ache and couldn’t eat with us, so I only prepared two steaks.  Daniel requested fried potatoes.  I hadn’t made fried potatoes for a really long time, so I figured, “Why not?”

Ingredients:

Three potatoes (one for each person plus one for the pan)

3 tbsp. olive oil

1 tbsp. butter

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.

Peel and slice potatoes really thin.

Jan 26 013

Heat olive oil and butter in skillet, on medium-high heat.

Jan 26 012

Add potatoes carefully, since skillet will be hot.

Jan 26 014

Sprinkle with salt and pepper and add a couple more pats of butter.

Jan 26 015

Lower heat to medium-low and cover for 10 minutes.

Jan 26 016

Flip potatoes around, cover again and let them cook for another ten minutes.

Jan 26 022

Remove cover from skillet and set skillet in oven for about 5 minutes, which is how long the steak needs to rest.

Jan 26 024

Delicious with the steak and a salad.  The third steak that I didn’t prepare was placed in a container and then into the freezer.  I can fix a really nice salad and add that for the protein.

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I do a similar thing but add in onions and use the inexpensive canned potato slices. I cook them until they are browned and even a little burnt. YUMMY!!!!

  2. I’d love to use onions but my teenage son won’t eat them. I could have used onion powder, tho! Thanks for the feedback!


I love reading your comments! Please leave me your thoughts.

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

