Man-Pleasing Chicken (Woman-Pleasing, too!)

January 30, 2013 at 10:03 pm | Posted in Chicken, Main Dish, One-Dish Meal, Potatoes, Supper, Uncategorized | 1 Comment

I have to admit that the title of this recipe, Man-Pleasing Chicken caught my attention, so I clicked on the Pin.  I’m glad that I did.  The recipe is from Witty in the City and I hope that your family will enjoy it as much as mine did.  Oh and I tweaked the recipe just a bit….

Ingredients:

Six skinless, boneless chicken thighs

1/2 cup Dijon mustard

1/4 cup maple syrup (the REAL thing, no substitutions!)

1 tbsp. rice wine vinegar

MP chicken 001

 

Here’s what I did differently from the original recipe:  pour Dijon mustard, maple syrup and rice wine vinegar in plastic container and mix well.

MP chicken 002

 

Add chicken, stir it around until all of the chicken is coated, cover the container and pop into the fridge for 30 minutes; then stir it around again and pop back in fridge for another 30 minutes.

MP chicken 003

Preheat oven to 450 degrees F.

Spray casserole dish with PAM.  I cheated and bought a foil casserole dish from the store.  Place chicken  into casserole and pour yummy marinade all over the top.  Salt and pepper the chicken.

MP chicken 004

 

I decided to peel and dice some russet potatoes and add them to the dish.  This wasn’t part of the original recipe.

MP chicken 005

 

Bake, uncovered for 20 minutes.  At the end of the 20 minutes, baste the chicken and potatoes with the marinade, which by now is thick and smells so awesome!  Return to oven for another 20 minutes.  Check the temp of the chicken at the end of the entire 40 minute cycle; it should read at least 165 degrees F.

 

MP chicken 007

 

Remove chicken and put in serving dish.  I put my potatoes back into the oven for the five minutes that the chicken rested.  By the time I pulled them back out, they were nice and bubbly and ready to eat.  Place them in a serving bowl.  Keep the saucy hot marinade, you will need it in a couple of minutes!

MP chicken 011

Grab some FRESH rosemary to garnish the chicken with.  Mine froze the other day, so I purchased some at the grocery store.

MP chicken 006

 

Take the rosemary off the stalks; talk about a nice woody scent!  Yum, I love the smell of fresh rosemary….there’s nothing like fresh herbs.  Sprinkle the rosemary over the chicken.

MP chicken 010

 

 

Pour the saucy hot marinade all over the chicken………every last drop!

MP chicken 012

 

I put a spoon in the dish so that we could scoop out the sauce.  There weren’t ANY leftovers tonight.  Awesome – my men were pleased with this chicken and so was I.

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. […] It sounded delicious and looked familiar, so I did some poking around and guess what?  I made the SAME CHICKEN, based on the SAME RECIPE from a DIFFERENT […]


I love reading your comments! Please leave me your thoughts.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

