Smoked Sausage & Rice Casserole

January 31, 2013 at 8:13 pm | Posted in Freeze for Later!, My Own Creation, One-Dish Meal, Smoked Sausage, Supper, Uncategorized | 8 Comments

sausage rice 007 I have a recipe for smoked sausage and rice that I scribbled from someplace.  This morning I was walking around the kitchen in a daze, with no idea what to fix for supper.  My week was thrown off because I thought we’d be eating out on Monday and Tuesday but we didn’t eat out Tuesday.  Does that make sense?  LOL

Either way, I had to dig through my freezer and see if there was anything that would thaw quick enough for supper.  Aha!  I found a one-pound package of smoked sausage, thought about the recipe in my new recipe book and dug that out, too.

I didn’t want to make it in a skillet with white rice; brown rice sounded like a nice change and brown rice takes a long time to cook, so I decided to turn this into a casserole.  It turned out pretty good!  And, instead of making a 9 x 13 with leftovers, I made two 8 x 8 casseroles and the other one will go into the freezer for later.

Here’s my recipe:

One pound smoked sausage

One can cream of mushroom soup

One can of evaporated milk (12 ounces)

One can of evaporated milk (5 ounces) because 12 ounces wasn’t enough!

sausage rice 004One cup shredded sharp cheddar cheese – or more!

1/4 cup frozen green beans

sausage rice 001Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.

Spray both casseroles with PAM.  Slice up smoked sausage into coins, then slice coins in half.  Eckrich sausage comes in a one pound package of two links; I used one link in each casserole.  I added the green beans to the casserole we had tonight; the other would be frozen and veggies that have been frozen, cooked and frozen again turn to mush.

sausage rice 003Mix rice with cream of mushroom soup.

sausage rice 002Add milk and mix well.  I then used a soup ladle to divide the rice, milk and soup mixture between both casseroles.  Top with cheese.

sausage rice 006The one above is the one we ate tonight.  The one below will be frozen:

sausage rice 005Cover with foil and bake for one hour.  Remove foil and bake for another 30 minutes.  Remove from oven and allow to sit for about five minutes.

sausage rice 008

Delicious!

8 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Yes! Finally someone writes about diet for weight.

    • It’s hard to stay healthy, isn’t it?

  2. I’m really inspired together with your writing talents and also with the structure on your blog. Is that this a paid subject or did you customize it your self? Anyway keep up the nice quality writing, it’s rare to see a great blog like this one nowadays..

    • I’m not being paid for this or anything; it’s just for fun. One day I hope to have my own URL. Thanks!

  3. Do you mind if I quote a couple of your posts as long as I provide credit and sources back to your site? My blog is in the very same niche as yours and my users would definitely benefit from a lot of the information you provide here. Please let me know if this ok with you. Appreciate it!

    • Milagro, no, please do! As you can see, I often take ideas from other bloggers and give them credit. I don’t take their photographs, though. Thank you! I’ll go check out your blog.

  4. Wonderful website you have here but I was wondering if you knew of any community forums that cover the same topics talked about in this article? I’d really love to be a part of group where I can get comments from other knowledgeable people that share the same interest. If you have any suggestions, please let me know. Appreciate it!

  5. Bart, look on the side-bar for groups that I belong to; there are a few that are about being a foodie. Have fun!


I love reading your comments! Please leave me your thoughts.

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

