DIY: Fabric Softener & Dryer Sheets

February 6, 2013 at 6:31 pm | Posted in DIY, Dryer Sheets, Fabric Softener, Laundry | Leave a comment

For the past few months, I’ve been making an effort to do things “naturally” and have been getting rid of some of the chemicals and junk that have been part of our lives for the past 25 years.  Today, I made homemade fabric softener and some dryer sheets.

There are a TON of links for homemade fabric softener.  One said to use shampoo along with water.  Hmm, if I want to get rid of un-necessary chemicals, why would I use shampoo?  Have you ever read the back of a shampoo bottle?

I found this recipe at DIY Natural.

Ingredients:

1 gallon white vinegar

30-40 drops of essential oil – purchased at The Herb Depot – I used Sweet Orange

How simple is this?

002

Now for the dryer sheets, I purchased a package of regular washcloths (didn’t cut them into fourths like the original post) and filled up a plastic container (with a lid).  The idea for this came from The Frugal Find.

003

The ratio of fabric softener to water was 3:1, so I filled up a jug with 3/4 gallon of fabric softener:

004

Then added 1/4 gallon of water:

005

Then, poured that on top of the washcloths:

007

Do you like my instructions?  LOL

Now, I will take the fabric softener and container of dryer sheets downstairs to the laundry room.

All set!

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

I love reading your comments! Please leave me your thoughts.

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

