Chili, My Way + A Copy Cat’s Addition or Two

February 9, 2013 at 7:32 pm | Posted in Chili, Copy-Cat Recipe, My Own Creation | Leave a comment

Daniel had a friend spend the night on Friday.  Rather than spend a fortune on pizza, chicken wings and other stuff, I decided to make chili.  My hubby reminded me that I had some in the freezer, so I took it out to thaw and on Friday night, fixed it up and it was wonderful!

I found a copy-cat recipe for Wendy’s Chili that sounded pretty good, and since there wasn’t enough of my original chili for four of us, decided to add some of the ingredients that the copy-cat recipe had, PLUS a secret ingredient of mine that I didn’t use or mention in my earlier chili recipe.

Here’s what I did:

Warm the thawed chili in a huge pot

Add one pound browned hamburger

Add one can of Ranch Style Beans (15 ounces), not drained

Add one can of dark red Kidney Beans (15 ounces), drained

Add one can of Original Rotel Diced Tomatoes and Green Chilies (10 ounce can), not drained

Add one can of tomato sauce (15 ounce)

Add one packet of McCormick’s Mild Chili Seasoning (1.25 ounce packet)

and then, I added my secret ingredient.

Stir well, and then it went into the oven at a low temperature (250 degrees F) until supper time.  Then I grabbed a box mix (yes, sometimes I am lazy) of honey cornmeal muffins and fixed them.

Feb 9 003

 

Serve with good toppings, such as sour cream, freshly diced onions, Fritos and cheddar cheese.  I also sliced up some celery and served them with baby carrots and Ranch dressing.

Feb 9 004

 

Very delicious.  And my secret ingredient?  Sprite.  I poured in half of a liter of Sprite.  It sweetens up the chili and takes any bitterness out of the tomatoes.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

I love reading your comments! Please leave me your thoughts.

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

