Migraine Headaches: Dr. Cady

February 13, 2013 at 8:38 am | Posted in Busy, Busy!, Doctor Appointment, Glaucoma: Hubby, Glaucoma: Mom, Migraine Headache, St. Louis Eye Institute | 2 Comments

My first appointment with Dr. Roger Cady at The Headache Care Center was yesterday.  He and his staff were very, very friendly.  I have hope that we can get a grip on these migraines and I can live my life again.

He increased my Imitrix and gave me a prescription for a nausea medicine; told me to take Magnesium tablets and Vitamin B Complex.  I am also to learn biofeedback and practice daily so that when a migraine happens, it can help calm me.

Dr. Cady said he wanted to get as many medical records as possible; he might want to order an MRI and they’ll call me about that as soon as he goes over my medical records.  Ick!  I don’t like MRIs where they stick you in head-first for long amounts of time.  I get claustrophobic and need a Valium to calm me down.  I’ll need to remember to ask for something.

Today I need to go to the pharmacy and pick up my medicine for nausea and a couple for my hubby’s eye surgery next week.  He’s having one eye fixed next week for his glaucoma.  Thankfully his doctor is from Springfield and comes to Aurora and hubby can have his surgery done in Aurora.

My mom’s appointment for her glaucoa repair is set for March 13.  I’ve emailed the Water Tower Inn for reservations; they’re right on campus, across the road from the Eye Institute.  We need to be in St. Louis on the 12th since surgery will be early, early in the morning.  Dr. Shields will want to see my mom the day after surgery plus the day after that.  I don’t want to rush her home, either, that’s another reason to stay over on Friday.  Dr. Shields told me that the Water Tower Inn gives good rates for surgery patients and their families.  Hopefully, I’ll hear from them today.

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Definitely look into the doses for Magnesium and B because it’s helped me so much!! I take 500 mg. magnesium and 400 mg. B2 (it seems it’s specifically B2 that is the key for migraines, not just a general B vitamin). I also found online that CoQ10 helps so I started taking that as well at 200 mg. Drinking plenty of water has helped as well as making sure I’m eating enough protein during the day. I found it took about a week for the vitamins to kick in enough to help with the migraines.

  2. Thanks for the reply, Ann. I’m going to do the 500 mg. of Magnesium and my B Complex Vitamin. The B vitamin has 100 mg. of B-1, 100 mg of B-2. 100 mg. of B-6 and 100 mg. of B-12. I hope and pray that things will improve.


I love reading your comments! Please leave me your thoughts.

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

