Pasta Fagioli

February 14, 2013 at 6:23 pm | Posted in Italian, Main Dish, Pasta, Soups & Stews | Leave a comment

I have a recipe printed off but can’t figure out where it came from. I’ve been really careful lately to either make sure that the credit is printed off on the recipe or I write it out myself. Somehow, it was missed on this one.  I searched Pinterest and did a search through the internet but nothing matches.

Here’s the recipe!  I changed a couple of things:  instead of hamburger, I used sweet Italian sausage links, sliced up into quarters; used onion powder instead of a yellow onion; increased the oregano and basil because I love Italian spices.

Ingredients:

1 pound sweet Italian links, sliced into quarters

2 tbsp. onion powder

2 medium carrots, chopped

2 stalks celery, chopped

2 cloves garlic, minced

2 cans diced tomatoes (14.5 ounces each), not drained

15 ounce can of red kidney beans, not drained

15 ounce can of Great Northern beans, not drained

15 ounce can of tomato sauce

1 tbsp. vinegar

1 1/2 tsp. salt

1 tbsp. oregano

1 tbsp. basil

1/2 tsp. pepper

1/2 tsp. thyme

8 ounces of Dinatali pasta, cooked according to package directions – MINUS 2 minutes!

pasta fagioli 001

Brown sausage and onion powder and other spices in large pot.

pasta fagioli 002Add celery and garlic (my favorite part!).

pasta fagioli 003Make sure that the sausage is completely browned.

pasta fagioli 004Add the diced tomatoes and tomato sauce.  The celery will be nice and tender.

pasta fagioli 005Add the beans.pasta fagioli 006Add the carrots and vinegar.

pasta fagioli 007Stir well.  At this point, you could prepare the pasta and eat.  I fixed it early enough so that I could pop it into the oven for a few hours to let the flavors blend.

pasta fagioli 008When you’re ready to eat, prepare the pasta and drain it in colander.  Add pasta to soup bowl and top with soup.  I just realized that I didn’t get any pictures of this part!  We were to hungry and it smelled so good that we couldn’t wait to pray and eat LOL

pasta fagioli 010This is all that’s left over.  Hubby had two servings!  This will go into the freezer for later on.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

I love reading your comments! Please leave me your thoughts.

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

