Fruit Salad w/Honey Lime Dressing

February 15, 2013 at 6:18 pm | Posted in Fruit, Salad | Leave a comment

Tonight for supper we had grilled cheese.  Since it’s Lent, we don’t eat meat on Fridays so it’s time to be creative.  We had sandwiches made with American cheese and with mozzarella sprinkled with Italian seasoning.

I needed a side dish.  I thought about tomato soup but that felt like too much effort; good thing I decided not to make it because while I was grocery shopping, a migraine came out of left field and knocked me out for an hour.  Thankfully I had found this recipe a few days ago.  It comes courtesy of Dena at Oh! You Cook!

I followed her recipe pretty much except for the strawberries.  The grocery store only sold them by the one pound basket and I was afraid that the ones we didn’t eat tonight would go bad.  So, I grabbed a jar of strawberries.  Yes, a jar!  I had discovered Polar Strawberries a while back and they worked in Vanilla Greek Yogurt and on plain cheesecake, so I figured they’d work in this salad.

Here’s how I made our fruit salad:

Ingredients:

10 ounce container strawberries

1 pint blueberries

1 pound green grapes, larger ones sliced in half

two bananas (my addition)

1/4 cup honey

3 tbsp. lime juice – sorry, no real limes today

Feb 15 003Put strawberries in bowl; slice up grapes.  Pick over blueberries, making sure to remove any tiny stems.  Gently mix together.

In small container, pour in lime juice.

Feb 15 004Add honey and gently whisk.

Feb 15 005Pour over fruit and mix gently.  If you’re going to eat the salad immediately, slice up the bananas and add them.  Supper was a few hours away, so the bananas didn’t get added until just before we ate.  Into the fridge!

Feb 15 006When supper time came and right before I started the grilled cheese sandwiches, I sliced up and added the bananas.  Make sure you stir well and coat the bananas with the juices, so they don’t turn brown.

Feb 15 009Pretty!  Delicious, too!

Next time, though, I will go ahead and buy the REAL strawberries.  Hubby said that there wasn’t enough COLOR in the salad.  He also asked me where the oranges were; sometimes I add mandarin oranges.  I told him that this was a new recipe; he liked it, it was just not what he’s used to.  I’m sure to make it again, adding more colorful fruit.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

I love reading your comments! Please leave me your thoughts.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

