Cheese Enchiladas (Thanks, Mom!)

February 22, 2013 at 7:08 pm | Posted in Main Dish, Mexican | Leave a comment

My mom made a batch of enchilada sauce and gave me a butter tub filled with some. It sounded like a good idea to make cheese enchildadas since we’re not having meat on Fridays. I’ve made enchiladas in the past, but using Old El Paso mild sauce. Mom’s homemade sauce is much, much better!

I grabbed my ingredients:

Enchilada sauce

Corn tortillas

Shredded cheddar cheese

Canola oil

Small skillet

And decided to make beans and sopa de estrellas.  For the beans, I poured about three tablespoons of canola oil into a medium-high skillet.Feb 22 003When the oil was shimmery, add the beans and begin mashing them.Feb 22 011Then I put maybe two tablespoons of canola into a small pot, poured in about a cup of estrellas and browned them, tosssed in a tablespoon each of onion powder and garlic powder, a dash of salt and most of an 8 ounce can of tomato sauce.  That bubbled nicely on the stove for about six minutes.Feb 22 010While the beans and sopa cooked, I preheated my oven to 350 degrees F. and grabbed a couple of casserole dishes.  I poured out a bit of enchilada sauce on the bottom of each casserole dish.  Feb 22 005Then, grabbed another skillet and poured in maybe three tablespoons of canola oil, so that I could heat the corn tortillas.  When the oil was hot, added a tortilla and let it get soft on both sides.  Feb 22 006Then, lay the warm tortilla in the casserole dish, add a handful of cheddar and roll it up.Feb 22 007Continue warming tortillas, rolling up with cheddar and fill the casseroles.  Top with more enchilada sauce and more cheese, pop into the oven for about 10 minutes and serve hot with beans and sopa.Feb 22 012Yum!Feb 22 013I think I ate too much……Feb 22 014

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

I love reading your comments! Please leave me your thoughts.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

