Crock Pot Honey Mustard Chicken & Roasted Potatoes

February 25, 2013 at 7:57 pm | Posted in Chicken, Crock Pot, Potatoes, Side Dish, Supper, Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Tonight I fixed a meal that I found on Pinterest (big surprise!).  The original recipe is from Kristen at Wicked Delicious and I can agree that this meal was wicked delicious!

Ingredients and directions for chicken:

One chicken (I picked up a small roaster)

1/3 cup Grey Poupon*

1/3 cup honey

1/3 cup olive oil

1/4 cup soft butter Feb. 25 002*Kristen’s recipe called for grainy mustard; I didn’t have any grainy mustard, so I subbed Grey Poupon.

OK:  rinse and pat the chicken dry and place in crock pot.  I wasn’t sure if the chicken would fit in my small crock pot (4 quart) but I tried and as you can see, it was too big:Feb. 25 003So, I grabbed my 6 quart crock pot.  I wish I had a 5 quart crock pot, it would have fit better.  The 6 quart crock pot was a little bit too big.

My butter was too cold so I zapped it in the microwave.  Then it was too melty.  For some reason I keep thinking of Goldilocks and the Three Bears as I type this….not sure why…

Feb. 25 004Add the mustard and honey and olive oil.Feb. 25 005Mix it all up!  I love my whisk, can you tell?Feb. 25 006Pour over the chicken and cook on LOW for 8 hours.  After 8 hours, remove from crock pot and place on serving dish; let sit for at least 5 minutes before slicing up.  One of the chicken legs fell off in the crock pot, that’s how lovely and tender it cooked.Feb. 25 009

Ingredients and directions for roasted potatoes:

1 pound red potatoes*

1/2 yellow sweet onion

1/4 cup olive oil

salt and pepper

Preheat oven to 425 degrees FFeb. 25 001*I didn’t want to fix 3 pounds of potatoes, so I cut the recipe down to fit my family’s size.  Dice up the potatoes and onions, toss them onto a 9×13 cookie sheet and drizzle with the olive oil, then salt and pepper to your heart’s content.Feb. 25 008Bake for about 30 minutes, stirring occasionally.  Or if you’re lazy like me, just reach in with a pot holder and shake the cookie sheet.  Serve with chicken.  I toasted some Texas Toast, buttered it and sprinkled it with garlic salt and made some corn to go along with the meal.Feb. 25 012My teenager, who stayed home from school today with an unhappy tummy almost didn’t come to the supper table.  We finally coaxed him to join us, he said he would eat a drumstick and proceeded to eat said drumstick plus quite a bit more chicken, along with potatoes, corn and Texas Toast.  Hopefully that means he’s feeling better and will go to school tomorrow.

As you can see in the above picture, my onions were really beautifully dark and carmelized.  They added an incredible flavor to the potatoes.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

I love reading your comments! Please leave me your thoughts.

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

