5 Minute Friday: REMEMBER

March 22, 2013 at 5:58 am | Posted in 5 Minute Friday | 6 Comments

5-minute-friday-1

1. Write for 5 minutes flat – no editing, no over thinking, no backtracking.
2. Link back here and invite others to join in.
3. And then absolutely, no ifs, ands or buts about it, you need to visit the person who linked up before you & encourage them in their comments. Seriously. That is, like, the rule. And the fun. And the heart of this community..

GO!

Remember?  What are some of the most important things in my life that I remember?

Meeting my husband and falling in love.  Knowing that he was THE ONE that I was going to spend the rest of my life with.

Finding out that we were expecting a baby – finally!  Discovering that he was a BOY!  My husband predicted, on the evening that I came home and told him our miracle was going to happen, that it was a boy.  We named this child while sailing on Beaver Lake.  He was born 27 days after our 12th wedding anniversary.

Remembering the evening my husband told me about the tumor on his right kidney; sitting at our son’s soccer practice while he told me about the life insurance policy that would pay off the house; the things he wanted for me and for his son after he was gone.  The way I sat there quietly weeping and wondering why the rug got pulled out from underneath our feet.

Learning to trust God fully with my fear for our future.  That no matter how frightening the future sounded, God is in control.

Remembering this recent hospitalization and realizing how close we came to losing my husband; the night I had to come home and tell our son that his dad may not make it.  Holding our son while he cried and crying with my mom.

Remembering the joy in my heart the day my husband walked out of the hospital.

God is good.  No, remember this:  God is beyond GOOD!  He is awesome.

6 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Dear Patty
    I am soooo glad our Pappa saved your husband! My father-in-law also had kidney cancer and they removed one whole kidney and left a quarter of the other. He lived many years after that and passed away 3 years ago of old age! Over via FMF.
    Much love XX
    Mia

  2. Thank you for visiting me, Mia and thanks for sharing your love! Our Father is truly a miracle worker, isn’t He?

    Patty

  3. God is awesome. He constantly is doing more than we ever could expect. That is one of the infinite number of reasons he is awesome.

  4. You are so right, Leelee. Sometimes I forget how incredible He is and then He sends me a gentle reminder, or in the case of my husband’s recent homecoming, a HUGE reminder! Thanks for visiting me.

  5. Praise God for saving your husband.

  6. Yes!

    Thanks for visiting me.


I love reading your comments! Please leave me your thoughts.

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

